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EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PROGRAMS COMMITTEE BENEFITS SURVEY RESULTS 
 

 Question No. 3 Question No. 4 Question No. 5 Question No. 6 Question No. 7 

 
Does your agency pay for employee service awards or employee 
recognition, reward, or incentive programs? 

Does your agency provide employer-paid tuition for higher education 
coursework for employees? 

Does your agency pay employee membership dues for professional 
organizations or service clubs?  Note:  Please exclude membership dues for which 
an employee is required to be a member for the position the employee is filling, membership 
dues incidental to publications, and membership dues incidental to continuing education 
credits for licensure required by the employer for the position for which the employee is filling. 

Does your agency provide 
employer-paid benefits under 
North Dakota Century Code 
(NDCC) Sections 54-52-27, 
54-52-29, and 54-52.6-09.2?1

Does your agency provide family leave 
with pay under NDCC Section 
54-52.4-02(5)?2 

  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium  Description 
Name of Agency A B C D A B C D A B C D A B C A B 

Adjutant General Yes $5,636 $5,636 Our agency has been purchasing 
employee awards based on years of 
service with the state in accordance 
with North Dakota Administrative Code 
(NDAC) Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A).  The agency is 
implementing a performance bonus 
program as in NDAC Section 
4-07-18-02. 

No  We do not unless they are a qualifying 
member of the North Dakota National 
Guard also. 

Yes $350 $400 We only pay membership dues that 
are directly tied to an employee's 
essential duties of their position or 
memberships pertaining to the agency 
as a whole.  We also request 
memberships for employees be made 
to the Office of the Adjutant General 
so they are transferable to a new 
employee entering that position. 

No No This agency follows NDCC 
Chapter 54-52.4 (Appendix B),
allowing up to 12 weeks in a 12-
month period.  This leave is unpaid 
with the exception of continued 
health benefits. 

Aeronautics Commission Yes $475 $200 We follow NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A) - Service Award 
Programs 

No  If opportunity arises, our agency would 
not be opposed to providing tuition 
assistance. 

Yes $225 $225 We follow Office of Management and 
Budget (OMB) Policy 209 
(Appendix C). 

Yes $2,484 Yes Our agency provides 40 hours 
family sick leave paid time.  We 
have not had to deal with any 
family leave beyond that at this 
time. 

Attorney General Yes $5,419 $5,700 Service anniversary awards are given 
to recognize dedicated Office of 
Attorney General employees who 
complete certain total years of 
employment with the state of North 
Dakota.  The awards apply to all 
agency employees who occupy full-
time equivalent positions.  Employees 
must have completed the equivalent of 
5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 
50 years of full-time employment with 
the state. 

The meritorious service award 
recognizes an employee's exceptional 
job performance and work 
accomplishments.  Each calendar 
year, the Attorney General shall 
present meritorious service awards. 
All permanent employees are eligible 
to receive the award. 

Yes $7,225 Unknown The Office of Attorney General will, to 
the extent funds are available, provide 
tuition assistance to permanent 
employees to encourage personal 
development and enhance job 
performance and productivity.  The 
course must be a part of the 
employee's training plan, directly 
relate to the employee's current work 
duties, and maintain or improve the 
employee's skills required in 
performing the employee's present 
work. 

Yes $131 Unknown Office of Attorney General employees 
may develop their professional skills 
by membership in organizations with a 
direct job relation to the employees' 
work duties.  In addition, an individual 
may be assigned to join an 
organization if the Attorney General 
determines the office as a whole will 
benefit from the membership. 

No Yes A permanent staff member 
employed by the North Dakota 
Attorney General who averages at 
least 20 work hours per week, and 
who has been employed by the 
Office of Attorney General for at 
least one year is entitled to receive 
up to two weeks of compensated 
family leave per year.  Family 
leave shall be granted as follows: 
1. To care for the employee's child 

by birth, if the leave begins 
within 16 weeks of the child's 
birth; 

2. To care for a child placed with 
an employee, by a licensed 
child-placing agency, for 
adoption or as a precondition to 
adoption, but not both, or for 
foster care, if the leave begins 
within 16 weeks of the child's 
placement; 

3. To care for the employee's 
child, spouse, or parent if the 
child, spouse, or parent has a 
serious health condition. 

Bank of North Dakota Yes $6,100 $5,900 Bank of North Dakota follows NDCC 
Section 54-44.3-12 (Appendix D) and 
NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A). 

Yes $25,634 $25,634 1. Guideline applies to regular full-time 
and regular part-time employees 
who have completed their 
probationary period. 

2. Reimbursement is limited to $5,000 
per calendar year, with a lifetime 
maximum of $10,000. 

3. Reimbursable amount is based on 
direct relation to current position, 
future career goal or requirement 
for degree. 

4. Reimbursement is prorated based 
on position appointment. 

5. Repayment of the amount 
reimbursed if employee leaves 
employment within three years, 
according to a "Payback 
Agreement." 

6. Employee must attain a grade C or 
higher. 

Yes $295 $430 Bank of North Dakota participates in 
organizations and associations that 
pertain to the banking industry and the 
North Dakota community. 

No Yes Employees can opt to use some or 
all of their annual or sick leave. 
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Does your agency pay for employee service awards or employee 
recognition, reward, or incentive programs? 

Does your agency provide employer-paid tuition for higher education 
coursework for employees? 

Does your agency pay employee membership dues for professional 
organizations or service clubs?  Note:  Please exclude membership dues for which 
an employee is required to be a member for the position the employee is filling, membership 
dues incidental to publications, and membership dues incidental to continuing education 
credits for licensure required by the employer for the position for which the employee is filling. 

Does your agency provide 
employer-paid benefits under 
North Dakota Century Code 
(NDCC) Sections 54-52-27, 
54-52-29, and 54-52.6-09.2?1

Does your agency provide family leave 
with pay under NDCC Section 
54-52.4-02(5)?2 

  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium  Description 
Name of Agency A B C D A B C D A B C D A B C A B 

Board for Career and Technical 
Education 

Yes $1,075 $1,575 We follow the state policy.  NDAC 
Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A). 

No   No  No Yes Our agency follows the state 
policy.  NDCC Sections 54-06-14 
(Appendix E) and 54-52.4-03 
(Appendix B), and NDAC Chapter 
4-07-13 (Appendix F). 

Commission on Legal Counsel for 
Indigents 

Yes $150 $150 We get certificates or award plaques 
for employees at our Christmas party 
and will follow OMB guidelines for 
years of recognition. 

No   Yes $500 $500 We have a policy that allows 
memberships to organizations related 
directly to work, like with criminal 
defense organizations for attorneys, 
for example.  Supervisors must 
approve it, as must I (Robin Huseby). 

No Yes As per Family Medical Leave Act
(FMLA). 

Council on the Arts Yes $350 $100 Employee recognition awards are now 
given at 5, 10, 15, 20, and 25 years, 
etc. 

No  We have no funding in our budget for 
this type of professional development. 

Yes $360 $450 Dues are paid for memberships that 
are related to the employee's job 
performance or knowledge base. 
Each employee may request dues 
payment for a maximum of two 
memberships per fiscal year. 

Yes $0 $0 No The agency provides 16 weeks 
(without pay) of family leave for an 
employee who has been employed 
for at least one year.  Leave can 
be used for birth, adoption, or 
foster placement of a child; serious 
health conditions of a parent, 
spouse, child, or the employee. 

Department of Agriculture Yes $5,144 $4,500 Service awards under NDAC Chapter 
4-07-18 (Appendix A); recognition 
awards under NDCC Section 54-06-31 
(Appendix G) (Quarterly 
Commissioner's Award). 

Yes $3,267 $2,000 Job- or degree-related; 75 percent of 
tuition; up to $50 for books. 

Yes $2,850 $2,850 Both agency and the employee, 
professionally, must benefit. 

No Yes For a life-threatening illness, an 
employee, expected to return to 
work, may receive up to 12 weeks 
paid leave. 

Department of Commerce Yes $2,126 $2,000 Commerce follows NDAC Chapter 
4-07-18 (Appendix A) as the 
department policy. 

Yes $0 $1,000 See Appendix I. Yes $199,780 $200,000 Commerce partners with professional 
organizations that further the mission 
of the agency.  Individual employees 
may be reimbursed for memberships 
in professional, work-related 
organizations (not service clubs) if 
approved by their supervisor 

No No Commerce follows state policy and 
offers up to 40 hours of an 
employee's sick leave to be used 
for family sick leave each year.  All 
other family leave is unpaid.  See 
Appendix J. 

Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation 

Yes $37,037 $38,0003 HRMS NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A) service award programs. 

Yes $19,036 $20,0003 See Appendix K. Yes $18,595 $19,0003 OMB fiscal and administrative 
policy 209 (Appendix C) - Professional 
membership dues 

Yes4 $47,623 Yes5 Follows NDCC Section
54-52.4-02(5) (Appendix B) and 
the federal FMLA. 

Department of Financial Institutions Yes $425 $1,250 Our agency does not have incentive 
programs.  We follow NDAC Chapter 
4-07-18 (Appendix A) for service 
awards for eligible employees. 

Yes  Has to be preapproved and has to be 
in field of job. 

No Our department only pays for 
membership dues for professional 
organization relating to our agency 
directive. 

Yes Yes We follow Human Resource policy 
which defaults to 12 weeks of 
unpaid leave after all annual and 
sick leave have been used. 

Department of Health Yes $15,000 $15,000 We follow OMB NDAC Chapter 
4-07-18 for service awards and 
employee recognition.  We do not 
have an incentive program. 

Yes $60,000 $60,000 See Appendix L. Yes $136,000 $136,000 Our agency does not pay for personal 
service club dues.  We pay for 
membership dues for professional 
organizations related to agency 
directives and goals.  In order to 
increase the knowledge or 
effectiveness of department staff it 
may be determined beneficial to have 
membership in certain organizations. 
Fees for these memberships will be 
paid by the department.  Section 
chiefs should determine the 
appropriate number of multiple 
memberships in a single organization 
beneficial to the department.  Payment 
of memberships to organizations must 
be approved by the section chief.  This 
policy is in compliance with OMB 
Policy 209 (Appendix C) Professional 
Membership Dues. 

No Yes The State Department of Health 
provides for employees to use up 
to 12 weeks of paid or unpaid 
leave to care for a qualifying family 
member as provided for by NDCC 
Chapter 54-52.4 (Appendix B) of 
the (State Employee Leave 
Policies).  The department also 
allows employees to use up to
40 hours of sick leave each year to 
care for eligible family members 
who are ill or to assist them in 
obtaining services related to their 
health or well-being as allowed by 
NDAC Section 4-07-13-07 
(Appendix F) (Uses of Sick Leave).
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 Question No. 3 Question No. 4 Question No. 5 Question No. 6 Question No. 7 

 
Does your agency pay for employee service awards or employee 
recognition, reward, or incentive programs? 

Does your agency provide employer-paid tuition for higher education 
coursework for employees? 

Does your agency pay employee membership dues for professional 
organizations or service clubs?  Note:  Please exclude membership dues for which 
an employee is required to be a member for the position the employee is filling, membership 
dues incidental to publications, and membership dues incidental to continuing education 
credits for licensure required by the employer for the position for which the employee is filling. 

Does your agency provide 
employer-paid benefits under 
North Dakota Century Code 
(NDCC) Sections 54-52-27, 
54-52-29, and 54-52.6-09.2?1

Does your agency provide family leave 
with pay under NDCC Section 
54-52.4-02(5)?2 

  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium  Description 
Name of Agency A B C D A B C D A B C D A B C A B 

Department of Labor Yes $161 $525 The Department of Labor follows OMB 
service award policy set forth in NDAC 
Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A).  The 
department does not utilize other 
recognition, reward, or incentive 
programs. 

No   Yes6 $220 $2,180 Employees are allowed to join 
professional or service organizations 
at their choosing.  The commissioner 
evaluates such memberships on a 
case-by-case basis to determine 
whether the dues or attendance is of 
value to the department.  Currently, 
only professional organizations have 
been approved (no service clubs). 

No No While the Department of Labor 
does not provide any paid family 
leave benefits, it does comply with 
the provisions of NDCC Chapter 
54-52.4 (Appendix B) and the 
federal FMLA in providing unpaid 
family leave to eligible employees. 
The department does not require 
that employees on family leave 
use applicable earned leave (or 
donated) hours in conjunction with 
FMLA leave. 

Department of Public Instruction Yes $4,674 $3,528 Department of Public Instruction 
follows NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A) in administering its 
service award programs. 

Yes $9,675 $9,000 See Appendix M. Yes $15,904 $16,000 Department of Public Instruction will 
provide up to $300 per year for 
approved professional membership 
dues.  This amount is deducted from 
the $750 annual allowance for 
employee professional development. 
Funds must be available within the 
appropriate budget and requests for 
participation must meet applicable 
state and federal regulations.  See 
OMB Policy 209 (Appendix C). 

No7 No Department of Public Instruction 
does not provide family leave with 
pay.  Department of Public 
Instruction requires that qualifying 
earned leave be used prior to the 
granting of unpaid leave. 

Department of Transportation Yes $60,339 $65,000 See NDDOT Policy II-1, Awards 
(Appendix N). 

Yes $55,334 $70,000 See NDDOT Policy IX-3, Tuition 
Reimbursement (Appendix O). 

No  Yes $141,656 $150,000 No  

Forest Service Yes $0 $0 We participate in North Dakota State 
University's staff recognition program. 
This program recognizes employees' 
years of service and retirement. 

No8  Tuition waivers are allowed. 
Policy 133, see Appendix P. 

Yes $948 $948 Membership has to be applicable to 
position.  See policy 152.2 
(Appendix Q). 

No9 No Family sick leave is 
uncompensated and covered 
under policy 135 (Appendix R). 
Family (dependent) sick leave is 
covered under policy 143 
(Appendix S).  Dependent sick 
leave described under section 10 
shall not exceed 40 hours per 
calendar year, but the employee's 
sick leave is allowed to be used. 

Game and Fish Department Yes $7,258 $8,000 Follow NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A), service award programs 
as established by OMB, Human 
Resource Management Services. 

Yes $0 $0 Tuition assistance can be provided for 
employee advancement. 

No  No No  

Governor's office No    Yes $80 $80 We try to use the courses available 
through the state when possible for 
computer and phone training.  We 
have also used Bismarck State 
College for some courses.  Usually 
$30 to $50 per class. 

No  No No Governor's office provides for 
12 weeks of unpaid leave per year 
after employee has exhausted 
his/her annual and sick leave and 
donated leave. 

Highway Patrol Yes $9,430 $6,000 The Highway Patrol follows NDAC 
Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A) 
regarding service award programs. 
We did provide incentive awards for 
physical fitness performance as part of 
the department wellness program.  A 
small amount was also spent on 
officer performance recognition 
awards. 

Yes $8,661 $10,000 See policy which outlines eligibility for 
50 percent tuition reimbursement 
(Appendix T). 

Yes $1,066 $1,200 We do not pay for service clubs but do 
pay a few work-related organization 
memberships such as International 
Association of Chiefs of Police, 
Society of Human Resource 
Management, Association of Public 
Safety Communications Officials. 

No No See Appendix U. 

Housing Finance Agency Yes $1,075 $2,275 State service award programs NDAC 
Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A). 

Yes $0 $0 $300 per year/$1,500 maximum; 
courses must be beneficial to 
employee's position. 

No  No No May use 40 hours sick leave in a 
calendar year, NDAC Chapter 
4-07-13 (Appendix F).  May use 
annual leave after that with 
approval.  If no leave available, 
may grant unpaid leave with 
approval. 
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Does your agency provide family leave 
with pay under NDCC Section 
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Name of Agency A B C D A B C D A B C D A B C A B 

Human Services Yes $120,287 $120,000 The department follows the guidelines 
set out in NDAC Section 4-07-18-04 
(Appendix A).  Department of Human 
Services policy is attached as 
Appendix V. 

Yes $37,779 $35,000 Assuming budget availability, 
employees are eligible for 
reimbursement of 80 percent of tuition 
expenses.  Course must be job-related 
or lead to a specific degree. 

Yes $261,625 $262,000 The department follows OMB 
Policy 209 (Appendix C). 

No Yes Department of Human Services 
grants leave in accordance with
what is required under the FMLA. 
If sufficient annual leave or sick 
leave exists, the time is paid.  If 
not, the time is without pay. 

Indian Affairs Commission Yes $0 $0 The North Dakota Indian Affairs 
Commission (NDIAC) does not give 
incentive programs and bonuses as 
provided for by statute.  The agency 
does follow OMB policy. 

Yes $0 $1,400 Per NDIAC policy Section 3 - Within 
budgetary constraints, tuition may be 
reimbursed up to 80 percent of tuition 
and fees.  Book costs are not 
reimbursed.  Reimbursement is 
predicated upon completion of course,
and coursework must not interfere with 
staff tasks. 

Yes $300 The NDIAC agency does not pay for 
service clubs.  Fees are paid for 
memberships to professional 
organizations whose functions are 
related to the agency's goals, policies, 
and directives. 

Yes $0 $0 Yes Currently, NDIAC inherited a policy 
of family leave which is deducted 
from the employee's annual leave. 

Industrial Commission Yes $5,046 $1,100 Our agency pays for employee service 
awards and retirements; we follow the 
guidelines stated in NDAC Chapter 
4-07-18 (Appendix A) for the service 
award programs. 

Yes $0 $2,000 Budgetary constraints, written request, 
preapproval, one course at a time, 
attendance off-duty hours, grade 
documentation, reimbursement 
limitations, book not covered. 

No  No No Agency provides that unpaid leave 
may be substituted by accrued 
annual and sick leave as outlined 
under the FMLA.  Total leave 
allowed is 12 weeks. 

Information Technology Department Yes $17,633 $20,000 We follow NDAC Section 4-07-18-05 
(Appendix A) regarding service 
awards. 

Yes $44,487 $46,000 See Appendix W for Information 
Technology Department (ITD) policy 
manual. 

No We do pay dues but they all relate to 
the exclusions noted in 5. a. 

No Yes We follow NDAC Section 
4-07-13-07 (Appendix F) regarding 
the use of sick leave to attend to 
family illness.  In addition we have 
attached Information Technology 
Department's FMLA policy 
(Appendix X). 

Insurance Department Yes $625 $1,725 See Appendix Y. Yes $828 $3,700 See Appendix Z. No See Appendix Z. No No We never have, but it would be 
looked at as a case by case.  See 
Appendix AA for policy. 

Job Service North Dakota Yes10   For eligible employees, Job Service 
North Dakota follows OMB NDAC 
Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A) for 
service and retirement awards and 
NDCC Sections 54-06-30 
(Appendix H) and 54-06-31 
(Appendix G) for performance, 
recruitment, and retention bonuses. 

Yes 11 12 The coursework and dollar amount 
must be approved upfront and must 
either directly relate to the employee's 
current job duties and responsibilities 
or fit into career development plan. 
The employee must complete the 
course with a grade C or better and 
receives the agree-upon dollar amount 
as reimbursement after the course is 
completed.  In most cases, the 
employee takes the coursework on 
personal time and is required to share 
in the tuition expenses.  This is a 
shared-commitment program. 

Yes 13 14 Our agency pays for professional 
organization dues directly related to 
the agency's directives and goals and 
to employee skill building.  To name a 
few of the large memberships for Job 
Service North Dakota: 
• National Association of State 

Workforce Agencies - $18,000 
• American Statistical Association -

$1,100 
• Information Technology Pros - $630 
• North Dakota Chamber - $525 
We are also members of most city 
chambers across the state which 
range from $755 to $50. 

No Yes As long as the employees have
accrued sick leave and/or annual 
leave on the books, they are 
allowed to use appropriate 
accrued leave for family leave. 
Additionally, they are allowed to 
use up to four months of shared 
leave, with proper medical 
certificates and approval. 
Otherwise, family leave is unpaid. 

Land Department Yes $620 $1,710 Our agency service awards are based 
on years of service as scheduled in 
NDAC Section 4-07-18-05 
(Appendix A).  According to years of 
service, each award consists of a 
plaque or similar tangible item, plus a 
gift certificate. 

Yes $0 $0 Commissioner discretion. No  No No  

Legislative Council Yes $2,018 $1,500 Policy is similar to the policy in NDAC 
Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A). 

No   No  No No  

Mill and Elevator Yes $1,427,461 $1,700,000 See attached gain sharing program 
and service award program 
(Appendix BB).  The gain sharing 
program is approved annually by the 
Industrial Commission.  The costs of 
the gain sharing program are 
appropriated each biennium within the 
salaries and wages line item of the 
State Mill's budget. 

Yes $0 $2,500 The State Mill will reimburse 
employees 100 percent of the tuition 
and fees upon satisfactory completion 
of a course.  The request must be 
approved by the department head and 
general manager. 

Yes $53,580 $55,200 Dues and memberships to 
professional organizations and clubs 
must be approved by the general 
manager.  The organizations for which 
the Mill pays membership dues relate 
to the nature of the Mill's operations 
and such as the National Feed and 
Grain Association and as part of the 
Grand Forks community. 

No No See Appendix CC. 
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 Question No. 3 Question No. 4 Question No. 5 Question No. 6 Question No. 7 

 
Does your agency pay for employee service awards or employee 
recognition, reward, or incentive programs? 

Does your agency provide employer-paid tuition for higher education 
coursework for employees? 

Does your agency pay employee membership dues for professional 
organizations or service clubs?  Note:  Please exclude membership dues for which 
an employee is required to be a member for the position the employee is filling, membership 
dues incidental to publications, and membership dues incidental to continuing education 
credits for licensure required by the employer for the position for which the employee is filling. 

Does your agency provide 
employer-paid benefits under 
North Dakota Century Code 
(NDCC) Sections 54-52-27, 
54-52-29, and 54-52.6-09.2?1

Does your agency provide family leave 
with pay under NDCC Section 
54-52.4-02(5)?2 

  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium  Description 
Name of Agency A B C D A B C D A B C D A B C A B 

North Dakota Vision Services - 
School for the Blind 

Yes $554 $750 Policy of the Department of Public 
Instruction based on years of service. 

Yes $1,127 $7,000 Directly related to the job's essential 
function and per availability of funds. 

No18 $4,644 $4,700 This agency belongs to national 
organizations that enable the staff to 
be leaders in the state in the field of 
vision.  Employees belong to service 
clubs but pay their own dues. 

No Yes Up to 40 hours of family sick leave.

Office of Administrative Hearings Yes $151 $726 HRMS rules in NDAC - Office of 
Administrative Hearings recognizes 
only those years of service awards 
under NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A). 

No   Yes $940 $940 We pay for memberships in required 
and desired organizations.  Desired 
organizations must be related to the 
employee's work, have educational 
components (seminars, CLEs, etc.) 
and be approved by the director. 

No No  

Office of Management and Budget Yes $9,112 $4,916 We follow NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A) and NDCC Section 
54-06-24 (Appendix E).  An employee 
is entitled to a service award if they 
have completed 5 ($25), 10 ($50), 15 
($75), 20 ($200), 25 ($225), 30 ($250), 
35 ($275), 40 ($300), 45 ($400), or 50 
($500) years of employment with the 
state.  In addition to a monetary gift, a 
plaque is also given.  A retirement 
award is provided to an employee who 
has a minimum of 15 years of state 
service, not to exceed $200 and a 
plaque.  See Appendix DD. 

Yes $14,702 $3,000 Training employees, as needed, to 
assure high quality performance is a 
federal merit system principle required 
of any agency subject to the merit 
system.  The following is the OMB 
policy regarding training (also NDCC
Section 54-44-11 State Personnel 
Training and Development Operating 
Fund).  OMB's policy is to provide job-
related training to its employees in 
order to enhance the knowledge, 
skills, and abilities of employees and 
ensure maximum productivity. 
Employees are encouraged to seek 
training and pursue educational 
opportunities as part of their 
development plan outlined in their 
performance evaluation to enhance 
their current skills, increase 
proficiency, improve performance and 
job satisfaction, and increase the 
opportunity for advancement within the 
division or state service.  Division 
directors may, within budgetary 
constraints, provide reimbursement of 
tuition for higher education 
coursework.  Approval is granted on a 
course-by-course basis.  The rate of 
reimbursement may be up to 
80 percent of course tuition and fees. 
Book costs, lodging, per diem, and 
travel associated with the course are 
not reimbursable.  See Appendix DD
for more detail regarding job-related 
training and tuition reimbursement. 

Yes $13,792 $8,765 Office of Management and Budget 
Expenditure and Revenue Policy 209 
(Appendix C) - Professional 
Membership Dues.  Payment by the 
state of dues to professional 
organizations is not a fringe benefit for 
state employees.  Wherever possible, 
a membership should be carried in the 
name of the state agency and not of 
an individual.  The idea behind this 
approach is to promote transferability 
of the benefits of the membership.  To 
justify the expenditure of funds, 
association memberships should be 
related to an employee's job duties or 
should be beneficial to the state. 

No Yes Only the 40 hours of sick leave per 
calendar year that an employee is 
allowed to use to care for family 
members is paid.  The 12 weeks 
provides by the FMLA is unpaid. 
Office of Management and 
Budget's family and medical leave 
policy follows state and federal 
statutes.  If an employee opts to 
take paid leave such as annual or 
sick leave in conjunction with 
FMLA, the annual or sick leave is 
the only portion paid.  All other 
leave or FMLA is uncompensated. 
See Appendix DD for detailed 
information. 

Parks and Recreation Yes $2,025 $2,225 Follow OMB guidelines for years of 
service awards. 

Yes $1,880 $1,880 Case-by-case basis - Job-related 
coursework is cost-shared. 

Yes Chamber of commerce or civic clubs 
dues in close proximity to parks. 

No No  

Protection and Advocacy Project Yes $1,231 $1,470 Follows NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A). 

No   No  No No  

Public Employees Retirement 
System 

Yes $1,131 $600 Service awards policy is in compliance 
with NDAC Section 4-07-18-05 
(Appendix A). 

Yes $2,000 $2,000 Must be full-time and not on probation; 
for any course, degree, or certification 
that relates directly to skills and 
knowledge required for current job or 
more responsible position; assistance 
limited to $1,000 per fiscal year 
(tuition only). 

Yes $1,430 $1,860 Is an allowable expenditure only if the 
membership is directly related to the 
job as evidenced by job description, 
minimum qualifications, and related 
job functions. 

No Yes Leave is only paid if the employee 
uses accrued sick or annual leave, 
comp time, or donated leave. 

Public Finance Authority Yes $0 $50 North Dakota Public Finance Authority 
(NDPFA) follows NDCC Section 
54-44.3-12 (Appendix D) and NDAC 
Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A). 

Yes $0 $0 NDPFA reimburses college tuition for 
coursework directly applicable to 
current position up to $1,000 per 
calendar year. 

Yes $185 $400 NDPFA reimburses employee 
membership dues to professional 
organizations that are relevant to 
municipal finance. 

No Yes Employees can opt to use some or 
all of their annual or sick leave.  A 
maximum of five days of sick leave 
per year can be used to care for a 
sick spouse, child, or parent. 
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 Question No. 3 Question No. 4 Question No. 5 Question No. 6 Question No. 7 

 
Does your agency pay for employee service awards or employee 
recognition, reward, or incentive programs? 

Does your agency provide employer-paid tuition for higher education 
coursework for employees? 

Does your agency pay employee membership dues for professional 
organizations or service clubs?  Note:  Please exclude membership dues for which 
an employee is required to be a member for the position the employee is filling, membership 
dues incidental to publications, and membership dues incidental to continuing education 
credits for licensure required by the employer for the position for which the employee is filling. 

Does your agency provide 
employer-paid benefits under 
North Dakota Century Code 
(NDCC) Sections 54-52-27, 
54-52-29, and 54-52.6-09.2?1

Does your agency provide family leave 
with pay under NDCC Section 
54-52.4-02(5)?2 

  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium  Description 
Name of Agency A B C D A B C D A B C D A B C A B 

Public Service Commission Yes $2,560 $2,275 NDAC Section 4-07-18-04 
(Appendix A); Public Service 
Commission Policy 3-09-91 (2) 
(Appendix EE). 

Yes $0 $2,500 Public Service Commission Policy 
3-05-95 (1) (Appendix FF). 

Yes $14,666 $15,508 Only required professional licenses 
and certifications; Public Service 
Commission Policy 1-22-98 (0), 
(Appendix GG). 

Yes $7,988 $10,000 Yes HRMS Guide to Personnel Laws & 
Rules Family and Medical Leave
(Appendix HH); NDCC Chapter
54-52.4 (Appendix B). 

Retirement and Investment Office Yes $689 $675 We follow NDAC Section 4-07-18-05 
(Appendix A). 

Yes $0 $0 Must be related to position, is 
dependent on budget availability and 
must be repaid if leave employment 
within specified timeframes. 

Yes $3,000 $3,500 Position-related, benefit to agency, 
budget availability. 

No No  

Secretary of State Yes $1,392 $1,000 The agency follows the guidelines in 
the NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 
(Appendix A).  It does not have an 
incentive program. 

Yes $3,249 $0 See Appendix II. No The agency has no FTEs that have a 
professional designation.  The agency 
does not pay service club dues 
because it is not known if it is an 
allowable expenditure. 

Yes $0 $0 Yes See Appendix JJ. 

Securities Department Yes $243 $0 NDAC Section 4-07-18-05 
(Appendix A); 5-year increments with 
value cap; 5 to 35 years, engraved key 
chain and gift certificates (40 years 
engraved clock and gift certificates). 

Yes $0 $0 See Appendix KK. Yes $705 $705 By commissioner approval - Generally 
discouraged; Commissioner is a 
member of Rotary; Attorney - Law 
license. We have members of staff 
who are members of organizations, 
they pay themselves or have other 
sponsors. 

No No Require compliance with the 
United States Department of Labor 
FMLA. 

State Auditor Yes $2,164 $2,040 Our office follows NDAC Chapter 
4-07-18 (Appendix A). 

Yes $0 $1,500 We have an informal policy offering to 
pay tuition for one to two classes 
needed to meet HRMS minimum goals 
for hard-to-fill positions.  Reviewed on 
a case-by-case basis. 

Yes $10,735 $10,800 Membership fees are paid for the 
State Auditor to NASACT, the 
technical specialist belongs to GFOA 
and AICPA to receive timely technical 
updates.  Our office encourages active 
membership to NDSCPA, paying dues 
for those who are committee 
members. 

No No The State Auditor's office is 
subject to the FMLA.  Eligible 
employees shall be provided up to 
12 weeks of unpaid leave during a 
12-month period for qualifying 
reasons. 

State Fair Association No    No   No  Yes No  
State Historical Society Yes $5,052 $4,000 Mirrors NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 

(Appendix A). 
Yes $0 $0 See Appendix LL. No  No No Mirrors NDCC Sections 54-52.4-01 

to 54-52.4-10 (Appendix B). 
State Library Yes $725 $125 See Appendix MM. Yes15 $7,514 $5,668 Approved staff received up to $8,500 

to pay for master's of library science 
(MLS) degree coursework. 

No  No No North Dakota State Library staff 
use appropriate vacation or sick 
leave earned or time without pay 
for family leave. 

State Seed Department No    No   No  No No  
State Water Commission Yes $9,410 $9,000 NDAC Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A). Yes $0 $500 Up to 80 percent of course tuition and 

fees. 
Yes $600 $600 Memberships that directly relate to 

position. 
No Yes Leave must be exhausted before 

unpaid time. 
Supreme Court Yes $23,163 $23,000 See Appendix NN. Yes $0 $0 See Appendix OO. Yes $39,000 $39,000 See Appendix PP. No16 No Paid family leave is provided when 

necessary to tend to the needs of 
an eligible family member who is 
ill, or to assist them in obtaining 
medical services.  Any time away 
from work would be reported as 
sick leave. 

Tax Commissioner Yes $8,232 $6,400 We follows state guidelines of 
providing a specific amount based on 
years of service.  No cash is given, 
only gift certificates. 

Yes $1,500 Unknown To the extent funds are available, an 
employee may be reimbursed up to 
$750 per fiscal year, maximum of 
$3,000 during employment, provided 
courses relate to the employee's 
current position or part of an approved 
career development plan within the 
Tax Department. 

Yes $425 $450 We follows OMB Policy 209 
(Appendix C), association 
memberships paid are related to an 
employee's job duties and 
membership is beneficial to the state. 
Memberships paid are limited to the 
North Dakota and International 
Association of Assessing Officers. 
Membership is required in order for 
employee to achieve professional 
assessor designation which would be 
a benefit to the state. 

No No An employee is required to 
exhaust accrued annual leave, 
sick leave, or family sick leave in 
accordance with the Office of State 
Tax Commissioner policies for 
which the paid leave is normally 
allowed.  When leave is 
exhausted, are on leave without 
pay. 
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 Question No. 3 Question No. 4 Question No. 5 Question No. 6 Question No. 7 

 
Does your agency pay for employee service awards or employee 
recognition, reward, or incentive programs? 

Does your agency provide employer-paid tuition for higher education 
coursework for employees? 

Does your agency pay employee membership dues for professional 
organizations or service clubs?  Note:  Please exclude membership dues for which 
an employee is required to be a member for the position the employee is filling, membership 
dues incidental to publications, and membership dues incidental to continuing education 
credits for licensure required by the employer for the position for which the employee is filling. 

Does your agency provide 
employer-paid benefits under 
North Dakota Century Code 
(NDCC) Sections 54-52-27, 
54-52-29, and 54-52.6-09.2?1

Does your agency provide family leave 
with pay under NDCC Section 
54-52.4-02(5)?2 

  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium 

Estimated 
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium Description  
2005-07 

Biennium

Estimated
2007-09 

Biennium  Description 
Name of Agency A B C D A B C D A B C D A B C A B 

University System Yes $980 $1,000 Follow rules as outlined in NDAC 
Chapter 4-07-18 (Appendix A). 

Yes $875 $1,500 Per State Board of Higher Education 
policy, all North Dakota University 
System employees are entitled to the
waiver of up to three courses per 
academic year at state-supported 
campuses.  In addition, the North 
Dakota University System office pays 
for other courses within budget 
resources as available. 

Yes $250,23017 $260,000 Paid when professional designation or 
credentials are required as part of the 
position. 

No No  

Veterans Affairs No    No   Yes $30 $120 Membership dues are presently paid 
to one organization which allows our 
two staff members to receive 
accreditation with the organization and 
a discount on training offered. 

No  Agency did not answer this 
question. 

Youth Correctional Center Yes $4,961 $4,100 Service awards are given to 
employees in increments of five years. 
Each employee receives a certificate 
or plaque and a gift not to exceed the 
dollar amount as listed:  5 years - $25; 
10 years - $50; 15 years - $75; 
20 years - $200; 25 years - $225; 
30 years - $250; 35 years - $75. 

Yes $600 $1,800 Only courses that have a direct 
relationship to job responsibilities will 
be considered for approval for up to 
50 percent reimbursement of the 
tuition.  Staff member must have 
completed two years of full-time 
employment.  Must have received a 
passing grade of C- or above. 

No Membership dues are tied directly to 
licensure of the employee as a part of 
job requirements. 

Yes $6,517 $0 Yes Full-time authorized positions are 
able to use up to 40 hours of 
family leave.  This leave is to be 
used from January 1 to December 
31.  Each year a new 40 hours is 
available.  The family leave is 
taken directly from accrued sick 
leave. 

Workforce Safety and Insurance Yes $17,397 $15,000 See Appendix QQ. Yes $24,336 $20,000 See Appendix RR. Yes $62,608 $50,000 No policy exists. No Yes Up to 40 hours per employee per 
year.  See Appendix SS. 

1North Dakota Century Code Sections 54-52-27 and 54-52-29 authorize agencies to provide employer-paid sick leave credit and service purchases under the Public Employees Retirement System and Section 54-52.6-09.2 provides for contributions by an employer to an employee's defined contribution retirement plan account for the 
conversion of sick leave and the equivalent of up to five years of service credit unrelated to any other service. 

2North Dakota Century Code Section 54-52.4-02(5) provides that "family leave required by this chapter (54-52.4) is not required to be granted with pay unless otherwise specified by agreement between the employer and employee, by collective bargaining agreement, or by employer policy." 
3The divisional budget requests are reviewed by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation central office, the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation budget is compiled and submitted to the Office of Management and Budget.  Office of Management and Budget is responsible for the preparation of the executive budget 
which is presented to the Legislative Assembly.  The requested budget is thoroughly reviewed and adjusted at both the executive and legislative levels. 

4One time in July 2005 ($47,623). 
5If the employee has accrued sick or annual leave which is eligible for use for this purpose, it is expected that this will be applied to this period of leave and they will be paid when they have available leave. 
6Dues for professional organizations only. 
7Funds were not available to provide benefits under these programs for the 2005-07 biennium nor will North Dakota funds be available for the 2007-09 biennium. 
8Tuition waivers are allowed.  See Appendix P. 
9We provide this option but employees must pay the cost. 
10We use federal funds for such activities. 
11Using federal funds, Job Service North Dakota expenditures for PY05 - $5,503.53; for PY06 - $3,553.93; for 2005-07 biennium - $9,057.46. 
12Using federal funds, Job Service North Dakota estimates funds to be used in 2007-09 biennium - $10,000. 
13Using Job Service North Dakota federal funds for PY05 - $41,549.50; for PY06 - $30,353; for 2005-07 biennium - $71,902.50. 
14Using federal funds, Job Service North Dakota estimates funds to be used in 2007-09 biennium - $72,000. 
15Federal program and uses federal money. 
16Payment of unused sick leave is provided pursuant to NDCC Section 54-06-14 (Appendix E).  The cost of the payout for the 2005-07 biennium was $74,439. 
17$47,030 without Midwest Higher Education Compact and Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education dues. 
18Employer memberships versus employee memberships. 
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