## LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE ROOM NAMES

This memorandum identifies potential names for new legislative committee rooms--specifically the two new committee rooms resulting from remodeling the former bill and journal room into two legislative committee rooms and a bill and journal room.

During the legislative wing renovation project, 1977-82, the Legislative Procedure and Arrangements Committee approved a committee room name plan that placed names on committee rooms, which formerly were designated by numbers.

In 1982, names were selected that represented a "good cross section of North Dakota" and recognized "physical or historical points of interest" and "would be relatively easy to decorate using color, pictures, or displays from the Heritage Center." Generally, the rooms were named from east to west with the hallway dividing north and south. For example, the committee rooms with geographically related names go from the Red River Room (the east), to the Missouri River Room (the middle), to the (Theodore) Roosevelt (National) Park Room (the west).

Current room names in the semicircle of rooms surrounding the bill and journal room are generally geographically accurate, from west to north to east--Roosevelt Park, Fort Union, Peace Garden, and Fort Totten.

Possible names for two committee rooms in this area include:

Maah Daah Hey Trail (in the Badlands)

Fort Buford (next to Fort Union, southwest of Williston)

Fort Clark (north of Center, but there is a Lewis and Clark Room)

Cross Ranch (near Center)

Fort Stevenson (near Garrison)

Lake Metigoshe (near Bottineau)

Some additional possible names include:

Medora

**DeMores** 

Sully Creek

Indian Hills

Audubon

Meadowlark

Flickertail

**Great Plains** 

The committee room names in this area are combined on two brass wall plates over the doors to the hallway to the committee rooms.