May 20, 2008

MEETING NOTICE

Representative AI Carlson, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE**.

- Date: Thursday, June 19, 2008
- **Time:** 9:00 a.m.
- **Place:** Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Office of Management and Budget regarding the status of the general fund, use of money deposited in the permanent oil tax trust fund, oil and gas tax and mineral royalty distributions to political subdivisions, options for comparing extraordinary repair expenditures to budgeted amounts, and estimated 2009-11 biennium cost-to-continue amounts; by representatives of the Tax Department regarding the status of selected tax collections for the 2007-09 biennium, homestead income tax credits, and the fiscal effect of selected oil tax-related bills approved by the 2007 Legislative Assembly; by representatives of the Attorney General's office regarding the state lottery; by representatives of the Department of Financial Institutions regarding the number of home foreclosures in North Dakota; and by representatives of the North Dakota University System, Information Technology Department, and State Water Commission regarding the status of each entity's 2007-09 biennium budget and anticipated changes included in each entity's 2009-11 budget request; and other presentations, including presentations by the Legislative Council staff regarding oil tax collections and distributions for the 2007-09 biennium, the status of one-time funding items approved by the 2007 Legislative Assembly, a report on agency compliance with legislative intent, a report comparing extraordinary repair expenditures to budgeted amounts for the 2007-09 biennium, options for comparing extraordinary repair expenditures to budgeted amounts, and a preliminary budget outlook for the 2009-11 biennium
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Representatives Al Carlson, Ole Aarsvold, Rick Berg, Merle Boucher, Jeff Delzer, Bob Martinson, Bob Skarphol, Ken Svedjan, Clark Williams; Senators Randel Christmann, Tony Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Elroy N. Lindaas, David O'Connell, Larry J. Robinson, Bob Stenehjem

Staff Contact: Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/CS