NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ELECTRIC INDUSTRY COMPETITION COMMITTEE

Thursday, October 14, 2004 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes of the August 30, 2004, meeting

ELECTRIC INDUSTRY TAXATION

9:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Harlan Fuglesten, Communications and Government Relations

Director, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, and other representatives of the state's distribution cooperatives concerning a bill draft relating to taxation of generation, distribution, and transmission of electric power, proposed amendments to this bill draft, a bill draft relating to elimination of gross receipts taxes for rural electric cooperatives and substitution of centrally assessed property taxes,

and electric industry taxation

10:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dennis Boyd, Senior Governmental Affairs Representative,

Public Affairs Department, MDU Resources Group, Inc., concerning the bill drafts

and the amendment and electric industry taxation

10:15 a.m. Coffee break

10:30 a.m. Comments by other interested persons in attendance and committee discussion

concerning the bill drafts and the amendment and electric industry taxation

WIND ENERGY DEVELOPMENT STUDY

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Representative Jon O. Nelson, District 7, Wolford, and Mr. Brad

Crabtree, Director, Powering the Plains Project, Ashley, concerning wind and

alternative energy development efforts in North Dakota

12:00 noon Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Matthew M. Klein (Chairman), Arden C. Anderson, Wesley R. Belter, Jim Kasper, George Keiser, James Kerzman

Senators Duane Mutch, David P. O'Connell, Larry Robinson, Ben Tollefson, Thomas L. Trenbeath, Herb Urlacher