## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

## **ELECTRIC INDUSTRY COMPETITION COMMITTEE**

Monday, August 30, 2004 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of the July 6, 2004, meeting
9:05 a.m.	ELECTRIC INDUSTRY TAXATION  Presentation by Mr. Harlan Fuglesten, Communications and Government Relations Director, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, concerning a bill draft relating to taxation of generation, distribution, and transmission of electric power, proposed amendments to this bill draft, a bill draft relating to elimination of gross receipts taxes for rural electric cooperatives and substitution of centrally assessed property taxes, and electric industry taxation
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dennis Boyd, Senior Governmental Affairs Representative, Public Affairs Department, MDU Resources Group, Inc., concerning the bill drafts and the amendment and electric industry taxation
10:00 a.m.	Coffee break
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Steve Schultz, Otter Tail Power Company, Jamestown, concerning the bill drafts and the amendment and electric industry taxation
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Kathy Aas, Xcel Energy, Inc., Minot, concerning the bill drafts and the amendment and electric industry taxation
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Bob Graveline, President, Utility Shareholders of North Dakota, concerning the bill drafts and the amendment and electric industry taxation
11:00 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
12:00 noon	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives Matthew M. Klein (Chairman), Arden C. Anderson, Wesley R. Belter, Jim Kasper, George Keiser, James Kerzman

Senators Duane Mutch, David P. O'Connell, Larry Robinson, Ben Tollefson, Thomas L. Trenbeath, Herb Urlacher