NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ELECTRIC INDUSTRY COMPETITION COMMITTEE

Friday, January 16, 2004 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of the September 8, 2003, committee meeting
	LIGNITE VISION 21 PROGRAM
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. John W. Dwyer, President, Lignite Energy Council, concerning the Lignite Vision 21 program
9:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dennis Boyd, Senior Governmental Affairs Representative, Public Affairs Department, MDU Resources Group, Inc., and other representatives of MDU Resources Group, Inc., concerning the Lignite Vision 21 program, construction of new peaking plants in Montana, the proposed acquisition of NorthWestern Corporation, and taxation of the electric industry
10:00 a.m.	Coffee break
ELECTRIC INDUSTRY TAXATION	
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Harlan Fuglesten, Communications and Government Relations Director, North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, of an update of the taxation information assembled by the Electric Industry Taxation Study Working Group
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Bob Graveline, President, Utility Shareholders of North Dakota, and representatives of the state's investor-owned utilities concerning taxation of the electric industry
11:30 a.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
	WIND ENERGY DEVELOPMENT STUDY
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Joe Richardson, President, Harnessing Dakota Wind, Fargo, concerning regional perspectives on North Dakota wind development
1:30 p.m.	Comments by other interested persons in attendance
1:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
2:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Matthew M. Klein (Chairman), Arden C. Anderson, Wesley R. Belter, Jim Kasper, George Keiser, James Kerzman

Senators Duane Mutch, David P. O'Connell, Larry Robinson, Ben Tollefson, Thomas L. Trenbeath, Herb Urlacher