NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Wednesday, September 15, 2004 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Approval of minutes of August 5, 2004, meeting Welcome and comments by Representative Rick Berg, Chairman
REPORTS	
9:05 a.m.	Comments by Mr. Dave MacIver, Greater North Dakota Association, regarding a committee request for economic development recommendations
9:25 a.m.	Comments by representatives of the energy industry regarding a committee request for economic development recommendations
9:50 a.m.	Comments by a representative of the Attorney General's office or the Division of Risk Management regarding issues relating to contracting with the state
BUSINESS CLIMATE STUDY	
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Miles Friedman, National Association of State Development Agencies, regarding ongoing economic development activities of the committee related to the business climate study
	Review and presentation of bill drafts relating to:
	Risk capital
	State government procurement
	Career and technical education
	Transportation infrastructure
	• Taxes
	Liability insurance
	Intellectual property and technology commercialization
	Comments by agency representatives and other interested persons
	Committee discussion and directives
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentations by representatives of the Department of Commerce regarding primary sector business data collection
	Comments by interested persons
	Committee discussion and directives

Presentation by Ms. Linda Butts, Division of Economic Development and Finance, Department of Commerce, regarding the status of the Red River Valley Research

1:10 p.m.

Corridor

Comments by interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

1:30 p.m. Review and presentation of bill drafts relating to:

- Targeting industry
- External image
- Internal image
- International trade and tribally owned businesses
- Local economic developer certification
- Manufacturing
- Economic development incentives
- Ongoing business climate study

Comments by agency representatives and other interested persons

Committee discussion and directives

3:50 p.m. Comments by chairman

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

NOTE: The committee may take a 15- to 20-minute coffee break in the morning and in the afternoon.

Committee Members

Representatives Rick Berg (Chairman), Tracy Boe, Donald L. Clark, Mark A. Dosch, Mary Ekstrom, Glen Froseth, Nancy Johnson, Jim Kasper, George Keiser, Eugene Nicholas, Kenton Onstad, Ken Svedjan, Don Vigesaa

Senators Dick Dever, Duaine C. Espegard, Tony S. Grindberg, John O. Syverson, Ryan M. Taylor