September 19, 2003

MEETING NOTICE

Representative Ken Svedjan, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET SECTION**.

- Date: Wednesday, October 15, 2003
- **Time:** 10:00 a.m.
- Place: Senate Chamber, State Capitol, Bismarck
- **Agenda:** Presentations by the Office of Management and Budget on the status of the state general fund, the status of the tobacco settlement proceeds, any line item transfers to accommodate information technology funding reductions, and the status of state employee position reductions and expected agency budgetary savings; by the University of North Dakota regarding the expansion of the Family Practice Clinic facility in Minot; by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation and the Southwest Multi-County Correction Center on the status of contracting to house female inmates; by the Veterans Home governing board on the process in developing and implementing the Veterans Home strategic plan and the recommendations in the performance audit and the Veterans Home Emergency Commission Request #1443 from June 2003; by the Department of Human Services on issues related to the increase in Medicaid matching and current caseloads; by the Information Technology Department regarding a summary of the department's annual report; by Workforce Safety and Insurance on the status of the risk management workers' compensation program; by the Department of Commerce Division of Community Services on the annual audits of renaissance fund organizations; consideration of state agency requests that have been authorized by the Emergency Commission and require Budget Section approval; and other information
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Representatives Ken Svedjan, Ole Aarsvold, Larry Bellew, Rick Berg, Merle Boucher, Thomas Brusegaard, Ron Carlisle, Al Carlson, Jeff Delzer, Eliot Glassheim, Pam Gulleson, Keith Kempenich, James Kerzman, Kim Koppelman, Joe Kroeber, Bob Martinson, Ralph Metcalf, David Monson, Earl Rennerfeldt, Bob Skarphol, Blair Thoreson, Mike Timm, Francis J. Wald, John Warner, Amy Warnke; Senators John M. Andrist, Bill L. Bowman, Randel Christmann, Michael A. Every, Tony S. Grindberg, Ray Holmberg, Ralph L. Kilzer, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Tim Mathern, David P. O'Connell, Larry Robinson, Randy A. Schobinger, Bob Stenehjem, Harvey Tallackson, Russell T. Thane

Staff Contacts: Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Stephanie A. Johnson, Fiscal Analyst

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/AJC