## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**Tentative Agenda** 

# JUDICIARY A COMMITTEE

Wednesday, May 29, 2002 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Approval of minutes of November 5, 2001, meeting

#### CLERK OF COURT AND COLLECTION OF RESTITUTION STUDY

- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ted Gladden, State Court Administrator's Office, regarding salaries of clerk of court personnel who became state employees
- 9:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Deb Simenson, North Dakota Clerks of Court Association, regarding the duty of collecting restitution
- 9:35 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Robin Huseby, North Dakota State's Attorneys Association, regarding the duty of collecting restitution
- 9:55 a.m. Comments by other interested persons

Committee discussion

#### **INDIGENT DEFENSE STUDY**

- 10:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Wade Williams, North Dakota Association of Counties, regarding prosecution costs in homicide cases and regarding indigent defense costs in Cass and Burleigh Counties
- 10:20 a.m. Coffee break
- 10:35 a.m. Presentation by Northeast Central Judicial District Judge Deb Kleven, North Dakota Counsel for Indigents Commission, regarding the application process and eligibility requirements for indigent defense services
- 11:05 a.m. Presentation by South Central Judicial District Judge Benny Graff, regarding indigent defense services in the state
- 11:35 a.m. Comments by other interested persons

Committee discussion

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

#### STATUTORY REVIEW

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Jean Mullen, Assistant Attorney General, regarding *Kansas v. Crane*, 534 U.S. 407 (2002), and its effect on this state's civil commitment of sexual predators law

#### MENTAL ILLNESS COMMITMENT PROCEDURES STUDY

- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft regarding the number of days within which a preliminary hearing or treatment hearing is to be held
- 1:30 p.m. Testimony from interested persons regarding the bill draft
- 2:30 p.m. Committee discussion
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

### **Committee Members**

Representatives Merle Boucher (Chairman), Duane DeKrey, Bruce Eckre, April Fairfield, G. Jane Gunter, Joyce Kingsbury, Lawrence R. Klemin, William E. Kretschmar, John Mahoney, John M. Warner Senators Deb Mathern, Carolyn Nelson, John T. Traynor, Darlene Watne