MEETING NOTICE

Senator Judy Lee, Chairman, has called a meeting of the BUDGET COMMITTEE ON HEALTH CARE.

Date: Tuesday, February 12, 2002

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by the State Health Officer on his goals for the State Department of Health; the Insurance Department on health insurance companies that have left the state, the status of a cost-benefit evaluation of health insurance mandates, recommendations regarding private entities to be contracted with by the Legislative Council for cost-benefit analyses of future legislative measures, and employers in North Dakota which have dropped health insurance coverage during the past 12 months; by Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota on health insurance coverage mandates, payments made for the 10 most common outpatient procedures, and the task force on augmentative communication devices; by the North Dakota Medical Association on health insurance mandates, uncompensated care provided by North Dakota health care providers, and the status of the Drug Utilization Review Board; by the Department of Human Services on the estimated cost of changing Healthy Steps program eligibility requirements, Medicaid plan amendments, the development of a combined application form for Medicaid and the Healthy Steps program, trends in Medicaid utilization rates for major drugs, the status of the Drug Utilization Review Board, and county administration of the Healthy Steps program; by the North Dakota Healthcare Association on health insurance mandates; by the North Dakota Pharmaceutical Association on the status of the Drug Utilization Review Board; by county social services directors on county administration on the Healthy Steps program; by Job Service North Dakota on unemployment trends and projections in North Dakota; by Mr. Bob Nakagawa, Director of Pharmacy, Fraser Health Authority, British Columbia, Canada, on pharmaceutical benefit management in Canada; and by the Legislative Council staff on memorandums relating to the committee's study responsibilities

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators Judy Lee, Dennis Bercier, Gary A. Lee, Michael Polovitz, Ken Solberg, Russell T. Thane; Representatives Rick Berg, Audrey B. Cleary, William R. Devlin, David Drovdal, Jim Kasper, George Keiser, Carol A. Niemeier, Kenton Onstad, Chet Pollert, Todd Porter, Clara Sue Price, Robin Weisz

Staff Contacts: Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Joe R. Morrissette, Senior Fiscal Analyst

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/PG