NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

BUDGET SECTION

Thursday, December 9, 1999 Senate Chamber, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of the October 27, 1999, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget on the status of the state general fund and recommendations regarding the use of moneys in the preliminary planning revolving fund
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget on any proposed changes for the 2001-03 biennium budget forms, pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Section 54-44.1-07
9:40 a.m.	Committee discussion and comments regarding the 2001-03 biennium budget forms
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Department of Human Services on budget information to be presented to the 2001 Legislative Assembly
10:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Curtis L. Wolfe, Chief Information Officer, Information Technology Department, on the development of information on information technology for use by the Executive Budget Office and the Appropriations Committees during the 2001 legislative session
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. David Sprynczynatyk, State Engineer, on the status of the statewide water development program, the state water management plan, and the issuance of bonds for various water projects
10:45 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to implement a grant preapproval process
11:00 a.m.	Presentations by representatives of the following agencies on the types of federal grants received, the feasibility of implementing a grant preapproval process, and measures being taken to determine that proposed grants do not violate state law or policy or obligate the state to provide future funding:
	State Water Commission
	Department of Public Instruction
	Department of Transportation
11:30 a.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
11:45 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota University System on the construction by the Barnes County Development Corporation of a regional technology center on Valley City State University property
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on statutory provisions and Budget Section action relating to the distribution of irregular salary payments by state agencies and institutions
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Central Personnel Division on the development of standards to be used by state agencies and institutions for making irregular salary payments
1:45 p.m.	Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Game and Fish Department of a request for approval of changes to the department's comprehensive statewide land acquisition plan
2:15 p.m.	Consideration of the following state agency request that has been authorized by the Emergency Commission:
	State Radio Communications (Request #1250) - To increase other funds

spending authority by \$54,385 of federal funds from the Attorney General's office for operating expenses (\$17,885) and equipment (\$36,500) for a computerized identification system that will be integrated with the Federal Bureau of Investigation's national data base

3:30 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Budget Committee on Institutional Services on that committee's budget tour of the State Hospital, South Central Human Service Center, and the James River Correctional Center

3:40 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives Jack Dalrymple (Chairman), Ole Aarsvold, LeRoy G. Bernstein, James Boehm, Merle Boucher, Rex R. Byerly, Ron Carlisle, Al Carlson, Jeff Delzer, John Dorso, Pam Gulleson, Serenus Hoffner, Robert Huether, James Kerzman, Ed Lloyd, David Monson, Ronald Nichols, Jim Poolman, Ken Svedjan, Mike Timm, Ben Tollefson, Francis J. Wald, Janet Wentz

Senators John Andrist, Bill L. Bowman, Tony Grindberg, Joel C. Heitkamp, Ray Holmberg, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Pete Naaden, Gary J. Nelson, David E. Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Ken Solberg, Rod St. Aubyn, Harvey D. Tallackson, Steve Tomac