## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Jack Dalrymple, Chairman, has called a meeting of the BUDGET SECTION.

Date: Wednesday, October 4, 2000

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Senate Chamber, State Capitol, Bismarck

**Agenda:** Presentations by the Office of Management and Budget on the status of the state general fund, state gas tax collections, and tobacco settlement proceeds; by the State Engineer on the status of the statewide water development program; by the Department of Human Services on the status of the intergovernmental transfer program, proposed reductions to the Social Security block grant, funding for traditional Medicaid grants, and additional full-time equivalent positions hired; by the Department of Public Instruction on the details of the new business communication specialist position; by the North Dakota University System on a request to modify the annual local fund budget tracking report and the status of flood damage and repair at the University of North Dakota and North Dakota State University and a related deficiency appropriation request; and by the Legislative Council staff on federal funds to be received by state agencies during the 1999-2001 and 2001-03 bienniums and a memorandum on block grant hearings required during the 2001 legislative session. Time has been included on the agenda for consideration of state agency requests that have been authorized by the Emergency Commission and require consideration by the Budget Section and for presentations on budget tours made by the Budget Committee on Health Care, Budget Committee on Government Services, and the Higher Education Committee.

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Representatives Jack Dalrymple, Ole Aarsvold, LeRoy G. Bernstein, James Committee Members: Boehm, Merle Boucher, Rex R. Byerly, Ron Carlisle, Al Carlson, Jeff Delzer, John Dorso, Pam Gulleson, Serenus Hoffner, Robert Huether, James Kerzman, Ed Lloyd, David Monson, Ronald Nichols, Jim Poolman, Ken Svedjan, Mike Timm, Ben Tollefson, Francis J. Wald, Janet Wentz; Senators John Andrist, Bill L. Bowman, Tony Grindberg, Joel C. Heitkamp, Ray Holmberg, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Pete Naaden, Gary J. Nelson, David E. Nething, Larry J. Robinson, Ken Solberg, Harvey D. Tallackson, Steve Tomac

**Staff Contacts:** Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Donald J. Wolf, Fiscal Analyst

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible. Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/LMM