NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION FINANCE COMMITTEE

Monday, August 25, 1997 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council rules of operation and procedure
9:05 a.m.	Comments by the committee chairman on the studies assigned to the committee
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the financing of elementary and secondary education
9:40 a.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Superintendent of Public Instruction and North Dakota State University regarding K-12 student enrollment projections
10:20 a.m.	Coffee break
10:40 a.m.	Continuation of discussion concerning K-12 student enrollment projections
11:30 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the short-term and long-term impact of federal education legislation and other direct and indirect mandates on the educational goals and fiscal well-being of school districts
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dean Monteith, Administrator, North Dakota School-to-Work System, regarding school-to-work programs in North Dakota
1:30 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Greg Gallagher, Educational Improvement Team Leader, and Ms. Pat Laubach, State Local Educational Agency Grant Administrator, regarding Goals 2000 in North Dakota
2:00 p.m.	Comments by other interested parties
2:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Layton Freborg (Chairman), Dwight C. Cook, Tony Grindberg, Jerome Kelsh, Les J. LaFountain, Rolland W. Redlin, Terry M. Wanzek, Jim Yockim

Representatives Rick Berg, James Boehm, Michael Brandenburg, Lois Delmore, Pat Galvin, William E. Gorder, Bette Grande, Howard Grumbo, Lyle L. Hanson, Dennis Johnson, RaeAnn Kelsch, Richard Kunkel, David Monson