SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 1 (Committee on Senate Memorial Resolutions) (Christensen, Berube, Sorum)

MEMORIAL FOR DECEASED SENATE MEMBERS

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of the State of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God in His wisdom has seen fit to summon to eternal rest His servants and our former colleagues:

F. CLYDE DUFFY, who served in the Thirty-first through Thirtyfourth Legislative Assemblies, from the twenty-first district, died December 17, 1977.

ISAK HYSTAD, who served in the Thirty-sixth and Thirty-seventh Legislative Assemblies, from the thirty-fourth district, died February 16, 1978.

MELVIN P. JOHNSON, who served in the Twenty-fourth and Twentyfifth Legislative Assemblies, from the twelfth district, died April 16, 1978.

DWIGHT KAMRATH, who served in the Thirty-seventh and Thirtyeighth Legislative Assemblies, from the forty-seventh district, died October 23, 1977.

HARVEY B. KNUDSON, who served in the Thirty-second through the Thirty-fifth Legislative Assemblies, from the eighth district, died June 29, 1978.

GEORGE KOLPIN, who served in the Twenty-fourth and Twenty-fifth Legislative Assemblies, from the sixteenth district, died June 23, 1978.

RILIE R. MORGAN, who served in the Twenty-sixth through the Thirty-third Legislative Assemblies, from the fourth district, died May 20, 1977.

RAYMOND H. MURRY, who served in the Twenty-ninth and Thirtieth Legislative Assemblies, from the nineteenth district, died March 22, 1977.

IVER SOLBERG, who served in the Twenty-seventh, Twenty-eighth, and Thirty-first Legislative Assemblies, from the forty-fifth district, died December 30, 1978.

THOMAS E. WHELAN, who served in the Twenty-third through the Twenty-sixth Legislative Assemblies, from the first district, died August 31, 1977.

WHEREAS, today, we, as members of the Senate of the Fortysixth Legislative Assembly of the State of North Dakota, pause to mourn the passing of our former colleagues, and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contribution to their fellowmen and their communities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE FORTY-SIXTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our keen sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of these, our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that, for the perpetuation of their memory, this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the journal of the Senate, and that duly enrolled copies of this resolution be presented by the Secretary of State to the surviving families of these deceased senators.

Filed March 16, 1979