



Tentative Agenda

25.5079.02000

Revised 12/12/2023

REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE

Wednesday, December 13, 2023 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

12:00 noon Call to order

Roll call

Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota

Legislative Management

Comments by the Chairman

12:05 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding

redistricting

12:20 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the maps proposed by the Plaintiffs in

Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, et al. v. Howe, CV 3:22-cv-00022-PDW-

ARS

12:35 p.m. Comments by the Legislative Council staff on the request for proposal issued for the

purpose of providing expert legal and advisory services specific to the analysis and application of the federal Voting Rights Act of 1965 and other state and federal laws

applicable to redistricting

12:40 p.m. Comments by interested persons

12:50 p.m. Committee discussion regarding future meeting dates and staff directives

1:00 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Senators: Ronald Sorvaag (Chairman), Brad Bekkedahl, Dick Dever, Robert Erbele, Kathy Hogan Representatives: Josh Boschee, Craig Headland, Mike Lefor, Mike Nathe, Austen Schauer

Staff Contacts: Emily Thompson, Legal Division Director

Samantha E. Kramer. Senior Counsel and Assistant Code Revisor

Liz Fordahl, Counsel