



## **Tentative Agenda**

25.5039.02000

## **EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, August 29, 2023 Pioneer Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota

Legislative Management

9:10 a.m. Comments by the Chairman

9:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding

the committee's study of effective parameters for school district ending fund balances

9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Adam Tescher, School Finance Officer, Department of Public

Instruction, regarding school district ending fund balances

10:00 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding

the committee's study of school choice models implemented nationally for K-12 schools

10:10 a.m. <u>Presentation</u> by Lucy Berrier Matheson, Hunt Institute, regarding school choice models

11:10 a.m. Break

11:25 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding

the committee's study of the feasibility and desirability of replacing storm days with

virtual instruction days

11:35 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, regarding

storm days and virtual days

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Joe Kolosky, Director, Office of School Approval and Opportunity,

Department of Public Instruction, of a report regarding requests from schools or school districts for waivers of rules governing the accreditation of schools under North Dakota

Century Code Section 15.1-06-08

1:15 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Ann Ellefson, Director, Office of Academic Support, Department of

Public Instruction, and Mr. Kolosky of annual reports of the innovative education program, including the status of the implementation plan, a summary of any waived statutes or rules, and a review of evaluation date results under Section 15.1-06-08.2,

and a report regarding waiver applications under Section 15.1-06-08.1

1:45 p.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's studies of school choice

models, school ending fund balances, and storm days replacing virtual instruction days

2:15 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

3:00 p.m. Adjourn

## A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: <a href="https://video.ndlegis.gov">https://video.ndlegis.gov</a>.

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Michelle Axtman (Chairman), Todd Beard, Cole Conley, Jay Elkin, Judy Estenson, Doug

Larsen, Kent Weston

Representatives: LaurieBeth Hager, Patrick Hatlestad, Dori Hauck, Pat D. Heinert, Jim Jonas, Donald W. Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, Eric James Murphy, Mitch Ostlie, David

Richter, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Kelby Timmons

Staff Contact: Liz Fordahl, Counsel