21.0229.03000

Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## FIRST ENGROSSMENT with Senate Amendments ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL NO. 1145

Introduced by

Representatives D. Johnson, Beltz, Hagert, Howe

Senators Lemm, Luick, Piepkorn, Wanzek, Weber

- 1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact sections 4.1-11-02 and 4.1-11-03, and subsection 2 of
- 2 section 4.1-11-04 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to soybean districts and terms of
- 3 office for members elected to the North Dakota soybean council.

## 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

- 5 **SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 4.1-11-02 of the North Dakota Century Code is
- 6 amended and reenacted as follows:
- 7 4.1-11-02. Soybean districts Establishment Review of district lines.
- 8 1. The state consists of the following eight soybean districts:
- 9 a. Richland County:
- 10 b. Dickey, LaMoure, Ransom, and Sargent Counties;
- 11 c. Cass County;
- 12 d. Barnes, Griggs, and Steele Counties;
- 13 e. Traill County;
- 14 f. Grand Forks County;
- 15 g. Pembina, Nelson, and Walsh Counties; and
- 16 h. All other North Dakota counties in which soybeans are grown.
- 17 2. Beginning April 1, 2012, the state consists of the following twelve soybean districts:
- 18 a. District one: Richland County;
- b. District two: Ransom and Sargent Counties;
- c. District three: Dickey and LaMoure Counties;
- d. District four: Cass County;
- e. District five: Barnes County;
- 23 f. District six: Stutsman County;
- 24 g. District seven: Grand Forks and Traill Counties;

1		h.	District eight: Griggs, Nelson, and Steele Counties;
2		i.	District nine: Eddy, Foster, and Wells Counties;
3		j.	District ten: Cavalier, Pembina, and Walsh Counties;
4		k.	District eleven: Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Divide, McHenry, Mountrail, Pierce,
5			Ramsey, Renville, Rolette, Towner, Ward, and Williams Counties; and
6		l.	District twelve: Adams, Billings, Bowman, Burleigh, Dunn, Emmons, Golden
7			Valley, Grant, Hettinger, Kidder, Logan, McIntosh, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer,
8			Morton, Oliver, Sheridan, Sioux, Slope, and Stark Counties.
9	<u>2.</u>	The	council shall review the district boundaries at least once every seven years to
10		ens	ure accurate producer representation. If, upon review, the council determines the
11		<u>dist</u>	ricts do not accurately represent producers in the state based upon acreage, the
12		<u>cou</u>	ncil may redistrict upon a two-thirds vote of the members elected to the council.
13	SEC	CTIO	N 2. AMENDMENT. Section 4.1-11-03 of the North Dakota Century Code is
14	amended and reenacted as follows:		
15	4.1-	11-03	3. North Dakota soybean council - Membership - Terms.
16	1.	The	council consists of one producer elected from each of the districts established in
17		sec	tion 4.1-11-02.
18	2.	Eac	th member of the council must be a resident of and a producer in the district that
19		the	member represents <u>and a producer</u> .
20	3.	a.	The term of each elected member is three years and begins on April July first
21			following the member's election. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection
22			the terms must be staggered so that no more than threefour expire each year.
23		b.	Notwithstanding subdivision a, the terms of all council members expire on-
24			March 31, 2012. Between January 1, 2012, December first and March 31, 2012,
25			thirty-first of the subsequent year, each district established by subsection 2 of
26			section 4.1-11-02 which has a vacancy shall elect an individual to serve as a
27			council member with a term beginning April 1, 2012 July first. The initial terms of
28			individuals elected to begin serving asall council members on April 1, 2012, are:
29			(1) One year for council members representing districts one, five, seven, and
30			nine;

1		(2) Two years for council members representing districts two, eight, ten, and
2		twelve; and
3		(3) Three years for council members representing districts three, four, six, and
4		elevenexpire on June thirtieth of the third year of each member's term.
5	4.	If at any time during a member's term the member ceases to possess any of the
6		qualifications provided for in this section, the member's office is deemed vacant and
7		the council, by majority vote, shall appoint another qualified producer to serve for the
8		remainder of the term.
9	5.	An elected member of the council may not serve more than two consecutive terms.
10	6.	If an individual is appointed to complete a vacancy, that service is not counted as a
11		term for purposes of this section unless the duration of that service exceeds one year
12	SEC	CTION 3. AMENDMENT. Subsection 2 of section 4.1-11-04 of the North Dakota Century
13	Code is	amended and reenacted as follows:
14	2.	Each year during the month of January December, the council shall publish notice of
15		the election in the official newspaper of the county for one week. The notice must
16		contain a description of the election process, a request for the nomination of potential
17		candidates for the position, and a deadline for the receipt of all nominations.