



Tentative Agenda

23.5196.02000

Revised 8/10/2022

EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE

Thursday, August 18, 2022 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the February 23, 2022, meeting

Comments by the Chairman

10:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Stan Schauer, Director of Assessment, Department of Public

Instruction, of a report of the study of interim education assessment systems

10:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Schauer of a report regarding the academic performance metrics of

students participating in virtual instruction

11:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Joe Kolosky, Director, and Mr. Jim Upgren, Assistant Director,

Office of School Approval and Opportunity, Department of Public Instruction, of a report

of the learn everywhere program enacted by House Bill No. 1478 (2021)

11:30 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Kirsten Baesler, Superintendent of Public Instruction, of a report

regarding the outcome of the collaboration with workforce development stakeholders and the Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve Education Coordination Council on how best to integrate computer science and cybersecurity into curriculum and proposed

<u>legislation</u>

12:00 noon Recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Ann Ellefson, Director, and Ms. Brenda Ehrmantraut, Assistant

Director, Office of Academic Support, Department of Public Instruction, of a report regarding the implementation and effectiveness of the science of reading curriculum

required by North Dakota Century Code Section 15.1-21-12.1

2:00 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

3:00 p.m. <u>Presentation</u> from Mr. Luke Schaefer, Executive Director, Central Regional Education

Association, of a report regarding the activities of the Kindergarten Through Grade

Twelve Education Coordination Council

3:30 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Public Instruction of updates and

the collaborative report on the statewide prekindergarten through grade twelve

education strategic vision for 2019-21 and 2021-23

4:00 p.m. Presentation from Mr. Schaefer regarding results from the study of membership, duties,

and term limits of the Kindergarten Through Grade Twelve Education Coordination

Council

4:45 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.ndlegis.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Cynthia Schreiber-Beck (Chairman), LaurieBeth Hager, Patrick Hatlestad, Pat D. Heinert, Jeff A. Hoverson, Donald Longmuir, Andrew Marschall, David Monson, David

Richter

Senators: David A. Clemens, Cole Conley, Jay R. Elkin, Doug Larsen, Diane Larson, Richard Marcellais, Jonathan Sickler, Michael A. Wobbema

Staff Contact: Jill Grossman, Counsel