



Tentative Agenda

23.5154.02000

HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, May 2-3, 2022 Room 335, National Energy Center of Excellence, Bismarck State College Bismarck, North Dakota

Monday, May 2, 2022	
1:00 p.m.	Call to order
	Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the <u>February 15-16</u> , 2022, meeting
1:05 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of Bismarck State College of an overview of the institution
2:05 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education regarding student financial aid and recruitment programs in other states
3:00 p.m.	Break
3:10 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact regarding student financial aid and recruitment programs in other states
3:55 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the North Dakota University System regarding the Native American scholarship program and tribally controlled community college grants
4:10 p.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the Western Governors University regarding the institution
4:40 p.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's assigned studies and duties
5:00 p.m.	Recess
Tuesday, May 3, 2022	
8:00 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of Dickinson State University of an overview of the institution, including facility needs
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Workforce Development Council regarding construction trades workforce needs
9:35 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the University System regarding enrollment and graduation trends in construction trades programs
9:45 a.m.	<u>Presentation</u> by a representative of the University System regarding certificate programs
9:55 a.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
10:00 a.m.	Tour of Bismarck State College
12:00 noon	Adjourn

A livestream of the meeting will be available to the public at: https://video.legis.nd.gov.

Committee Members

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Larry Bellew, Jay Fisher, LaurieBeth Hager, Karla Rose

Hanson, Zachary Ista, Dennis Johnson, Bob Martinson, Gary Paur, Brandy Pyle, David

Richter, Mike Schatz, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck

Senators: JoNell A. Bakke, Robert Erbele, Karen K. Krebsbach, Dave Oehlke, Jim P. Roers

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Senior Fiscal Analyst