Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001**

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

- 1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.
- WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:
- 3 LeRoy George Bernstein, who served in the 51st through the 59th Legislative Assemblies,
- 4 from District 45, died January 4, 2017;
- 5 Elaine Vig Caldis, who served in the 46<sup>th</sup> and 47<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 17,
- 6 died September 30, 2015;
- 7 Lyle L. Dawson, Jr., who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> and 41<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 35,
- 8 died March 29, 2015;
- 9 Donald Dean Dietrich, who served in the 59<sup>th</sup> and 60<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 10 District 42, died December 11, 2016;
- 11 Gordon Fredrick Emerson, who served in the 41st Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died
- 12 August 9, 2016;
- 13 Charles "Chuck" Frank Fleming, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> through the 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative
- 14 Assemblies, from District 10, died July 13, 2016;
- 15 Chester "Chet" Fossum, who served in the 36<sup>th</sup> through the 40<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 16 from District 28, died May 22, 2015;
- 17 Arthur David Goffe, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> and 53<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 24,
- 18 died March 6, 2016;
- 19 Richard Anthony "Dick" Hentges, who serviced in the 41st through 43rd Legislative
- 20 Assemblies, from District 21, died March 9, 2017.
- 21 Gordon John Hill, who served in the 45<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 8, died July 22,
- 22 2015:
- Sebastian Fabian "Buckshot" Hoffner, who served in the 38th and 39th, the 41st and 42nd, and
- 24 the 48<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 12, died December 17, 2015;

- 1 Curt Hofstad, who served in the 60<sup>th</sup> through the 64<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 2 District 15, died June 18, 2016;
- 3 Ernest N. Johnson, who served in the 36<sup>th</sup> through the 41<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 4 District 15, died April 4, 2015;
- James A. Kerzman, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> through the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 6 District 35, and in the 57<sup>th</sup> through the 61<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 31, died
- 7 June 20, 2015;
- 8 Paul Patrick, who served in the 42<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 8, died January 16,
- 9 2017;
- 10 Charles E. "Chuck" Orange, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> and 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 11 District 18, died April 2, 2016;
- 12 Emil J. Riehl, who served in the 45<sup>th</sup> through the 50<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 13 District 35, died February 27, 2016;
- 14 Enoch Thorsgard, who served in the 41<sup>st</sup> through the 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 15 District 19, died December 16, 2015;
- Harold Neil Trautman, who served in the 50<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 17 District 48, died July 11, 2015;
- Vernon E. Wagner, who served in the 38<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 27, in the 39<sup>th</sup>
- 19 through the 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 32, and in the 45<sup>th</sup> through the 47<sup>th</sup>
- 20 Legislative Assemblies, from District 47, died May 31, 2016;
- 21 Cheryl Ann Watkins, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> and 44<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 22 District 21, died September 3, 2016;
- Wade Allen Williams, who served in the 48<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 24 District 29, died May 12, 2015; and
- WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House of Representatives
- 26 colleagues and to honor their memories; and
- WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
- 28 their contributions to public service;
- 29 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
- 30 **NORTH DAKOTA**:

## Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly

- 1 That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people
- 2 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and
- 3 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
- 4 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of
- 5 Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the
- 6 surviving families of these deceased Representatives.