NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Tuesday and Wednesday, September 25-26, 2018 City Commission Room, 200 Third Street North Fargo, North Dakota

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

- 1:00 p.m. Meet at 200 Third Street North for tour of Fargo area flood control projects
- 4:00 p.m. Tour ends

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

- 8:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the August 13-14, 2018, meeting
 8:05 a.m. Governor's remarks
 8:15 a.m. Chairman's remarks
 8:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ken Royse, Chairman, Garrison Diversion Authority Board of Directors, regarding updates on Garrison Diversion Authority projects
 8:45 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Tim Mahoney, Mayor, City of Fargo, regarding updates on the FM Area Diversion Project, Fargo interior flood control project, and Lake Agassiz Water
- 9:15 a.m.
 9:15 a.m.
 Presentation by Mr. Tony Grindberg, Finance Committee Chair, FM Area Diversion Board of Authority, regarding a financial update on the diversion project
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by Colonel Sam Calkins, Commander, St. Paul District, Army Corps of Engineers, regarding an update on the Fargo-Moorhead area flood control project
- 9:40 a.m. Break
- 9:50 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Del Rae Williams, Chair, FM Area Diversion Board of Authority, regarding an update on the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources permit and environmental review status
- 10:00 a.m. Presentation by Mr. John Shockley, Shareholder, Ohnstad Twichell, P.C., regarding the public-private partnership for the FM Area Diversion Project
- 10:20 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Mary Scherling, Vice Chair, FM Area Diversion Board of Authority, and Commissioner, Cass County Commission, regarding the land acquisition and property mitigation plan for Fargo area flood control projects
- 10:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Matt Pedersen, Commissioner, State Water Commission, regarding a State Water Commission update on the Fargo area flood control project
- 11:00 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Tami Norgard, Counsel, regarding permits for the Red River Valley Water Supply Project
- 11:15 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Gary Thompson, Co-Chairman, Red River Retention Authority, regarding Red River flood control projects
- 11:30 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 12:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Scott Parkin, Hydrologist, Water Appropriation Division, State Water Commission, regarding airborne electromagnetic survey results of the Wahpeton to Fargo groundwater resources

- 12:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jerry Blomeke, General Manager, Cass Rural Water District, regarding Cass Rural Water District activities and regionalization of water supply systems in the Fargo and West Fargo area
- 1:05 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Ted Preister, Executive Director, Red River Basin Commission, regarding Red River Basin Commission projects between Minnesota, Manitoba, and North Dakota
- 1:25 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Chris West, Mayor, City of Grafton, regarding the Grafton flood control project
- 1:45 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Craig Hertsgaard, Director, MNDAK Upstream Coalition Board of Directors, regarding impacts of area flood control projects
- 2:05 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding status of studies assigned to the committee
- 2:15 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Michael Howe, Bob Martinson, Alisa Mitskog, Jon O. Nelson, Mark Sanford, Roscoe Streyle, Denton Zubke

Senators: Jonathan Casper, Curt Kreun, Gary A. Lee, Larry J. Robinson, Donald Schaible, Ronald Sorvaag

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Counsel