NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Fargo Public School Conference Room, 415 Fourth Street North
Fargo, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the March 14, 2018, meeting
	ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION
	STATE AID AND FUNDING FORMULA STUDY
9:05 a.m.	Committee travel and tour of a SmartLab at Nativity Elementary School, 1825 11th Street South
9:50 a.m.	Committee travel and tour of a SmartLab at Sullivan Middle School, 5600 25th Street South
10:35 a.m.	Committee travel and tour of the North Dakota Center for Distance Education, 4776 28th Avenue South
11:35 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Reconvene in the Fargo Public School Conference Room
1:05 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction of information regarding:
	 Total local revenue received by revenue type deducted in the state school aid formula for each school district in the state;
	 Property tax revenue received compared to property tax revenue deducted in the formula during the 2016-17 school year for certain school districts; and
	 A detailed listing of actual local revenue received by certain school districts by revenue source and fund compared to local revenue offset in the state school aid formula during the 2016-17 school year, including an analysis of the effects on the district's state school aid of distributing the various types of local revenue in the same proportion as mill levy revenue
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders regarding in-lieu of and local revenue and the teacher loan forgiveness program
2:10 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota School Boards Association regarding the state school aid formula
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Small Organized Schools regarding transportation funding
2:50 p.m.	Presentation by representatives of the Career Workforce Academy regarding a strategic plan
3:10 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
3:20 p.m.	Committee discussion and staff directives
3:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Donald Schaible (Chairman), Kyle Davison, Ralph Kilzer, Erin Oban, David S. Rust Representatives: Pat D. Heinert, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, David Monson, Mark S. Owens, Mark Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Denton Zubke

Staff Contact: Sheila M. Sandness, Senior Fiscal Analyst