NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the February 21, 2018, meeting
9:05 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jon Patch, Director, Water Appropriations Division, State Water Commission, regarding water permitting in the Bakken area
9:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Garland Erbele, State Engineer, State Water Commission, regarding an update on the Northwest Area Water Supply Project, water permitting on the Missouri River, and the development of economic and life cycle analyses
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Edward C. Murphy, State Geologist, Geological Survey, Department of Mineral Resources, regarding a study of the feasibility of and appropriate jurisdiction for regulation of sediment studies and dredging operations from the beds of reservoirs, as required by 2017 House Bill No. 1020
10:20 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Richard Johnson, Commissioner, State Water Commission, regarding policy updates
10:35 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Clare Carlson, State Director, and Mr. Mark Wax, Community Programs Director, Rural Development, United States Department of Agriculture, regarding special evaluation assistance for rural communities and households (SEARCH) grants
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Becky Tebby, Mayor, City of Benedict, regarding small town water supply concerns
11:05 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Tim Mahoney, Mayor, City of Fargo, regarding the FM Area Diversion Project and Fargo interior flood protection project
11:45 a.m.	Luncheon recess
12:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dave Glatt, Chief, Environmental Health Section, State Department of Health, regarding State Department of Health funding for water projects
1:05 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Wayne Stenehjem, Attorney General, regarding an update on the Waters of the United States regulations
1:25 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Duane DeKrey, General Manager, Red River Valley Water Supply Project, regarding an update on the Red River Valley Water Supply Project
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mark Owan, Board Chairman, Western Area Water Supply Authority, regarding an update on the Western Area Water Supply Project
2:10 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. David Ashley, Chairman, Souris River Joint Board, regarding funding and expenditures of the Souris River Joint Board
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding public-private partnerships for water projects
2:45 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding an update on the resources trust fund
2:55 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dave Laschkewitsch, Director of Administration, State Water Commission, regarding project status updates

3:05 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Kevin Martin, Senior Project Manager, Houston Engineering, Inc.,
	regarding a report on the results of the Western Area Water Supply Authority industrial
	sales study

3:20 p.m. Comments by interested persons

3:35 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Michael Howe, Bob Martinson, Alisa Mitskog, Jon O. Nelson, Mark Sanford, Roscoe Streyle, Denton Zubke

Senators: Jonathan Casper, Curt Kreun, Gary A. Lee, Larry J. Robinson, Donald Schaible, Ronald Sorvaag

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Counsel