NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

INITIATED AND REFERRED MEASURES STUDY COMMISSION

Tuesday, May 22, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the March 20, 2018, meeting

9:05 a.m. Comments by the Chairman

9:10 a.m. Discussion of bill drafts and constitutional amendment resolution drafts requested by commission members:

- Resolution draft [19.3023.02000] to require biennial approval by the Legislative Assembly and Governor of constitutional amendments that require the expenditure of a threshold sum of funds
- Bill draft [19.0101.02000] requiring mediation by administrative law judges of disagreements regarding proposed petition titles and ballot language
- Resolution draft [19.3022.02000] requiring the Legislative Assembly to provide a voluntary procedure for sponsoring committee members to access the Legislative Council's drafting services
- Resolution draft [19.3036.01000] revising the initiated measure process
- Bill draft [19.0150.01000] accompanying resolution draft [19.3036.01000] and revising the initiated measure process
- Resolution draft [19.3037.01000] changing the threshold number of signatures required to put an initiated measure for a constitutional amendment on the ballot
- Resolution draft [19.3038.01000] increasing the percentage of votes required to approve an initiated measure for a constitutional amendment
- Resolution draft [19.3039.01000] requiring initiated measures for constitutional amendments to address one subject

Possible discussion of bill drafts and resolution drafts discussed during the March 20, 2018, meeting

10:30 a.m. Break

10:45 a.m. Continue discussion of bill drafts and resolution drafts

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Continue discussion of bill drafts and resolution drafts

2:30 p.m. Break

2:45 p.m. Continue discussion of bill drafts and resolution drafts

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

Commission Members

Chairman: Surrogate Judge William A. Neumann Senators: David Hogue, Gary A. Lee, Erin Oban

Representatives: Jim Kasper, Scott Louser, Vicky Steiner Citizen Members: Nick Archuleta, Brent Bogar, Ellen Chaffee, Kirsten Diederich, Robert Hale, Pete

Hanebutt, Alvin A. Jaeger, Jack McDonald, Sara Meier, Kayla Pulvermacher, Jonathan

Sickler, Conner Swanson

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Counsel