

North Dakota Legislative Council

STATE CAPITOL, 600 EAST BOULEVARD, BISMARCK, ND 58505-0360

Jim W. Smith Director Allen H. Knudson Legislative Budget **Analyst & Auditor** John Biornson **Legal Division Director** Jason J. Steckler Administrative Services **Division Director** Vonette J. Richter

Code Revisor

March 1, 2018

MEETING NOTICE

Senator Donald Schaible, Chairman, has called a meeting of the EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE.

Date: Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Department of Human Services, Department of Public Instruction, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, and regional education associations regarding Medicaid funding used to provide services in school districts and a statewide Medicaid billing consortium; the State Treasurer regarding total revenue received from the leasing of flooded lands; the Department of Public Instruction regarding revenue received by school districts from the leasing of flooded lands and the effects on state school aid, the distribution of in lieu of revenues in oil-producing counties, and the effects on state school aid of imputing in lieu of revenue into taxable valuation in the state school aid formula; the State Tax Commissioner regarding the effects on property tax of imputing in lieu of revenue into taxable valuation in the state school aid formula: the North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders regarding options for the treatment of in lieu of revenue in the state school aid formula and a comparison of resources across school districts; and other presentations and reports, including an annual report on the financial condition of school districts, the status of the innovative education program, and the delivery of interactive video network classes

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators Donald Schaible, Kyle Davison, Ralph Kilzer, Erin Oban, David S.

Rust; Representatives Pat D. Heinert, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, David Monson, Mark S. Owens, Mark Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Denton

Zubke

Staff Contact: Sheila M. Sandness, Senior Fiscal Analyst

701.328.2916 Fax 701.328.3615 www.legis.nd.gov Icouncil@nd.gov Any member unable to attend this meeting is asked to notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

/S/ Jim W. Smith Director

JWS/BM