NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

WATER TOPICS OVERVIEW COMMITTEE

Wednesday, February 21, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

| 9:00 a.m. | Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the October 12, 2017, meeting Comments by the Chairman |
|------------|---|
| 9:05 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Gary Thompson, Co-Chair, Red River Retention Authority, and Mr. Keith Weston, Executive Director, Red River Retention Authority, regarding Red River Retention Authority and water management projects for retention, detention, and drainage |
| 9:35 a.m. | Presentation by Ms. Mary Podoll, State Conservationist, Natural Resources Conservation Service, United States Department of Agriculture, regarding Natural Resources Conservation Service funding agreement with Red River Retention Authority |
| 9:55 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Richard Johnson, Commissioner, State Water Commission, regarding an update on the State Water Commission |
| 10:25 a.m. | Presentation by Dr. Zhulu Lin, Assistant Professor, North Dakota State University, regarding industrial use of water in North Dakota |
| 10:55 a.m. | Break |
| 11:05 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Eric Volk, Executive Director, North Dakota Rural Water Systems Association, regarding railroad crossing and project funding |
| 11:20 a.m. | Presentation by Mr. Kevin Martin, Senior Project Manager, Houston Engineering, Inc., regarding the status of the Western Area Water Supply industrial sales study |
| 11:35 a.m. | Luncheon recess |
| 12:35 p.m. | Presentation by Mr. Dennis Reep, Managing Principal, HDR Engineering, regarding an update on formulae development for the State Water Commission |
| 1:00 p.m. | Presentation by Dr. Tim Mahoney, Mayor, Fargo, regarding the Fargo Diversion and Fargo interior flood protection project |
| 1:45 p.m. | Presentation by Mr. Ken Royse, Chairman, Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, regarding an update on the Red River Valley Water Supply Project |
| 2:05 p.m. | Break |
| 2:15 p.m. | Presentation by Mr. Ryan Ackerman, President and CEO, Ackerman-Estvold, regarding an update on the Mouse River flood control project |
| 2:40 p.m. | Presentation by Mr. Dave Laschkewitsch, Director, Administrative Services, State Water Commission, regarding purpose funding budget information and balances |
| 3:00 p.m. | Comments by interested persons |
| 3:20 p.m. | Committee discussion |
| 3:45 p.m. | Adjourn |

Committee Members

Representatives: Jim Schmidt (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Tracy Boe, Chuck Damschen, Michael Howe, Bob Martinson, Alisa Mitskog, Jon O. Nelson, Mark Sanford, Roscoe Streyle, Denton

Zubke

Senators: Jonathan Casper, Curt Kreun, Gary A. Lee, Larry J. Robinson, Donald Schaible, Ronald

Sorvaag

Staff Contact: Claire Ness, Counsel