## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

## NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Thursday, March 29, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the December 13, 2017, meeting
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Public Service Commission regarding the cooperation and communication between the Public Service Commission and political subdivisions, and the efficiency of the siting process
- 9:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 9:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Greg Link, Division Chief, Conservation and Communications, Game and Fish Department, regarding:
  - · Game and Fish Department's role in Public Service Commission's oversight
  - · State Wildlife Action Plan for rare and declining species
  - · Conservation of essential habitats
  - Potential impacts
  - Voluntary guidelines for avoidance, minimization, and offsetting impacts
- 10:00 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 10:20 a.m. Break
- 10:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Daryl Dukart, Dunn County Commissioner, regarding the cooperation and communication among the Public Service Commission, political subdivisions, and landowners
- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Petroleum Council regarding the relationship between landowners and the oil and gas industry, and the impact of 2017 House Bill No. 1144 and Senate Bill No. 2286 on the efficiency of the siting process
- 11:05 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Troy Coons, Chairman, Northwest Landowners Association, regarding local-level perspective and input on wind energy development
- 1:10 p.m. Presentation by a representative of the Northwest Landowners Association regarding local-level perspective and input on the cooperation and communication between the Public Service Commission and political subdivisions, and on the relationship between landowners and the oil and gas industry
- 1:20 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Edward C. Murphy, State Geologist, Department of Mineral Resources, of a bill draft [19.0038.04000] relating to the Industrial Commission issuing a notice of disapproval in regard to high-level radioactive waste disposal when the Legislative Assembly is not in session
- 1:45 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 2:00 p.m. Committee discussion regarding future meetings and other administrative matters
- 2:10 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Jay Seibel (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Roger Brabandt, Mike Brandenburg, Tom Kading, Vernon Laning, Alisa Mitskog, Todd Porter, Vicky Steiner, Greg Westlind Senators: Bill L. Bowman, Diane Larson, Larry Luick, Merrill Piepkorn

Staff Contact: Christopher S. Joseph, Counsel