NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

JUSTICE REINVESTMENT COMMITTEE

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the September 13, 2017, meeting
- 9:05 a.m. Presentation by Chief David Todd, Fargo Police Department, regarding the community trust officer program
- 9:40 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Jason Hornbacher, Principal, Dorothy Moses Elementary School, regarding the strategies used to address high-risk youth
- 10:00 a.m. Break
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Alexis Baxley, Executive Director, North Dakota School Boards Association, regarding high-risk juveniles
- 10:35 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Cory Pedersen, Director, Juvenile Court, regarding the Dual Status Youth Initiative
- 10:55 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Valerie Fischer, Director, Safe & Healthy Schools and Adult Education, Department of Public Instruction; Dr. Cory Steiner, Superintendent, Northern Cass School District; and Mr. Chris Potter, School Resource Deputy, Maple Valley Public Schools, regarding successful strategies related to high-risk juveniles in schools
- 11:55 a.m. Committee discussion
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Pamela Sagness, Director, Behavioral Health Services Division, Department of Human Services, regarding the progress of justice reinvestment
- 1:30 p.m. Presentation by Captain Andrew Frobig, Jail Administrator, Cass County Sheriff's Office, regarding the screening process used by the Cass County Jail
- 1:55 p.m. Presentation by Ms. Leann K. Bertsch, Director, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, regarding the inmate prioritization plan
- 2:20 p.m. Presentation by Chief Dan Donlin, Bismarck Police Department, regarding crime prevention strategies being used by law enforcement
- 2:45 p.m. Committee discussion
- 3:00 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the age of juvenile culpability
- 3:05 p.m. Committee discussion
- 3:15 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Kelly M. Armstrong (Chairman), Dick Dever, John Grabinger, Dave Oehlke, Arne Osland Representatives: Jake G. Blum, Karla Rose Hanson, Pat D. Heinert, Tom Kading, Karen Karls, Lawrence R. Klemin, Lisa Meier, Jon O. Nelson, Bernie Satrom, Steve Vetter

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel