11:15 a.m.

## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **EDUCATION FUNDING COMMITTEE**

Thursday, September 21, 2017 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the July 27, 2017, meeting

## ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION STATE AID AND FUNDING FORMULA STUDY

10:05 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Education Commission of the States regarding a comparison of the state's elementary and secondary education funding system to other states

Presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders and committee discussion regarding state school aid calculations for certain school districts

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Continuation of the presentation by representatives of the North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders and committee discussion regarding state school aid calculations for certain school districts

2:00 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the Department of Public Instruction of information by school district regarding:

- Taxable valuation in 2016;
- Property tax revenue in dollars and mills deducted in the 2017-18 state school aid formula, compared to the property tax revenue that would be deducted at 60 mills, if different:
- Actual mills and dollars levied by school districts for general fund purposes for the 2016-17 school year, compared to property tax revenue deducted in the state school aid formula;
- · Miscellaneous mills and dollars levied by school districts; and
- Basis for the percentages by which in lieu of taxes revenues are offset in the formula

2:30 p.m. Presentation by representatives of the Indian Affairs Commission regarding the elementary and secondary education funding system for Native American children and how this funding system compares to the funding system for local school districts

3:00 p.m. Additional comments by representatives of the Education Commission of the States regarding the state's elementary and secondary education funding system

3:30 p.m. Comments by interested persons

3:45 p.m. Committee discussion and staff directives

4:00 p.m. Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Senators: Donald Schaible (Chairman), Kyle Davison, Ralph Kilzer, Erin Oban, David S. Rust Representatives: Pat D. Heinert, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, David Monson, Mark S. Owens, Mark Sanford, Cynthia Schreiber-Beck, Denton Zubke

Staff Contact: Sheila M. Sandness, Senior Fiscal Analyst