## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

## **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**

Tuesday and Wednesday, August 22-23, 2017 Bavendick Stateroom, National Energy Center of Excellence, Bismarck State College Bismarck, North Dakota

## Tuesday, August 22, 2017

1:00 p.m.	Roll call Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
1:05 p.m.	Comments by the Chairman
1:15 p.m.	<b>HIGHER EDUCATION STUDY</b> Presentation by Mr. Joe Garcia, President, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, regarding:
	<ul> <li>Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education services;</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>The current state of higher education;</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Challenges facing higher education; and</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Innovative ideas and actions taken to address challenges in higher education</li> </ul>
3:15 p.m.	Break
3:30 p.m.	Presentation by Dr. Larry Skogen, President, Bismarck State College, of an overview and tour of the institution
5:00 p.m.	Recess
Wednesday, A 8:30 a.m.	<b>ugust 23, 2017</b> Presentation by Dr. Mark R. Hagerott, Chancellor, North Dakota University System, regarding strategic planning and directives for the future of higher education in North Dakota
9:00 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Mark Kennedy, President, University of North Dakota, regarding the institution's strategic plan
9:30 a.m.	Break
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Tisa Mason, President, Valley City State University, regarding the institution's strategic plan
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Skogen regarding the Bismarck State College strategic plan
10:45 a.m.	Break
11:00 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Richard Rothaus, Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, North Dakota University System, regarding open educational resources
11:20 a.m.	Comments by interested persons regarding the committee's assigned studies and duties
11:30 a.m.	Presentations by the Legislative Council staff and committee discussion regarding the assigned studies and duties of the Higher Education Committee, including potential plans to proceed with the committee studies and duties
12:00 noon	Adjourn

## **Committee Members**

Representatives: Mark Sanford (Chairman), Thomas Beadle, Rich S. Becker, Lois Delmore, Richard G. Holman, Dennis Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Lisa Meier, Gary Paur, Mike Schatz

Senators: Robert Erbele, David Hogue, Ray Holmberg, Karen K. Krebsbach, Carolyn C. Nelson, Larry J. Robinson, Jim P. Roers

Staff Contact: Alex J. Cronquist, Fiscal Analyst