## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

## Minutes of the

## LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Prairie Room, State Capitol
Bismarck, North Dakota

Senator Ray Holmberg, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 8:39 p.m.

Members present: Senators Ray Holmberg, Kelly M. Armstrong, Joan Heckaman, Jerry Klein, Erin Oban, Donald Schaible, Ronald Sorvaag, Rich Wardner; Representatives Larry Bellew, Al Carlson, Bill Devlin, Kathy Hogan, Mike Lefor, Scott Louser, Corey Mock, Jim Schmidt, Jay Seibel

Others present: Dick Dever, State Senator, Bismarck
Karla Rose Hanson, State Representative, Fargo
Mary Schneider, State Representative, Fargo
John Bjornson and Allen H. Knudson, Legislative Council, Bismarck
See appendix for additional persons present.

Chairman Holmberg opened the nominations for Chairman of Legislative Management. Representative Devlin nominated Representative Carlson, seconded by Representative Seibel. Senator Wardner nominated Senator Holmberg, seconded by Senator Klein.

Representatives Bellew, Carlson, Devlin, Lefor, Louser, Schmidt, and Seibel voted for Representative Carlson. Representatives Hogan and Mock and Senators Armstrong, Heckaman, Holmberg, Klein, Oban, Schaible, Sorvaag, and Wardner voted for Senator Holmberg. Senator Holmberg was elected Chairman.

Chairman Holmberg announced that nominations for Vice Chairman were open. Senator Heckaman nominated Representative Hogan, seconded by Senator Oban. Senator Wardner nominated Representative Carlson, seconded by Representative Seibel. Senators Heckaman and Oban and Representatives Hogan and Mock voted for Representative Hogan and Senators Armstrong, Holmberg, Klein, Schaible, Sorvaag, and Wardner and Representatives Bellew, Carlson, Devlin, Lefor, Louser, Schmidt, and Seibel voted for Representative Carlson. Representative Carlson was elected Vice Chairman.

In response to a question from Chairman Holmberg, the Director indicated traditional business for the Legislative Management is to set two meeting dates--one in May to review study directives and establish priorities for discretionary studies. He said this is generally around 3 weeks after adjournment. He said the Legislative Management generally authorizes the Chairman to establish a committee structure based on the study directives approved for the interim, and a survey is sent to each legislator asking for committee preferences. He said the second meeting should be at least 2 weeks after the first to allow staff time to distribute the survey, receive survey returns, and tabulate the results from legislators. He said the second meeting of the Legislative Management would be to approve the committee membership assignments.

The Legislative Management discussed various dates for the next two meetings. Chairman Holmberg announced the Legislative Management will meet at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, May 31, 2017, to prioritize studies. He asked that the list of potential studies be provided to committee members in advance of the meeting. He said the second meeting will be at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 13, 2017.

No further business appearing, Chairman Holmberg adjourned the meeting at 8:50 p.m.

Jim W. Smith Director

ATTACH:1