NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

INCARCERATION ISSUES COMMITTEE

Monday, July 25, 2016 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

8:30 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the June 7, 2016, meeting
8:35 a.m.	Presentation by the Council of State Governments' Justice Center, including intensive analysis of criminal justice system data
9:35 a.m.	Presentation by Dr. Lisa A. Peterson, Clinical Director, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, and Ms. Pamela Sagness, Director, Behavioral Health Services Division, Department of Human Services, on recommendations in response to data from the Council of State Governments' Justice Center
10:10 a.m.	Break
10:25 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Jason Sutheimer, Recruitment Manager, Department of Transportation, on community resources to reduce recidivism
10:40 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Chelsey Williams, President, North Dakota Community Corrections Association, on community resources to reduce recidivism
10:55 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Scott J. Davis, Executive Director, Indian Affairs Commission, regarding incarceration rates of the Native American population
11:10 a.m.	Comments by interested persons
11:25 a.m.	Committee discussion
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Council of State Governments' Justice Center regarding policy options
2:00 p.m.	Comments by interested persons
2:15 p.m.	Committee discussion
3:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators: Ron Carlisle (Chairman), John Grabinger, Terry M. Wanzek Representatives: Ron Guggisberg, Kim Koppelman, Jon O. Nelson

Citizen Members: Leann K. Bertsch, Thomas Erhardt, Rozanna Larson, Judge Douglas Mattson,

Presiding Judge Frank Racek, Aaron Roseland, Scott Steele, Attorney General Wayne

Stenehjem, Chief Justice Gerald W. VandeWalle, Randy Ziegler

Staff Contact: Samantha E. Kramer, Counsel