### NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

**Tentative Agenda** 

# TRIBAL AND STATE RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Wednesday, March 2, 2016 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

10:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of the minutes of the December 17, 2015, meeting

#### TRIBAL YOUTH STUDY

10:05 a.m. Committee discussion regarding the feasibility of a tribal-state agreement to provide state services to tribal youth with the following persons:

- Honorable Donovan Foughty, District Judge, Northeast Judicial District
- Mr. Scott Davis, Executive Director, Indian Affairs Commission
- Ms. Lisa Bjergaard, Director, Division of Juvenile Services, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
- Mr. Joseph Vetsch, Spirit Lake Tribal Court
- Other interested persons

### ANIMAL CRUELTY LAWS

10:45 a.m. Presentation by Mr. TJ Jerke, North Dakota State Director, The Humane Society of the United States, regarding animal cruelty laws and pet vaccination resources available to the tribes

### TRIBAL COLLEGES

11:05 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Gary Halvorson and Mr. Louis Walking Elk, Sitting Bull College, regarding research activities at Sitting Bull College

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Presentation by Dr. Leander "Russ" McDonald, President, United Tribes Technical College, and other representatives of United Tribes Technical College, regarding research activities at United Tribes Technical College

#### CHILD SUPPORT ISSUES

1:50 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Jim Fleming, Director, Child Support Enforcement Division, Department of Human Services, regarding child support enforcement updates

# **CLEAN POWER PLAN**

2:05 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Dave Glatt, Chief, Environmental Health Section, State Department of Health, regarding the Clean Power Plan

#### **GOVERNMENT-TO-GOVERNMENT RELATIONS**

2:20 p.m. Discussion by committee members, members of the North Dakota Tribal Governments' Task Force, and interested persons in attendance regarding government-to-government relations and issues

2:45 p.m. Adjourn

# **Committee Members**

Representatives: Marvin E. Nelson (Chairman), Bill Amerman, Dennis Johnson, Wayne Trottier Senators: Joan Heckaman, Oley Larsen, Dave Oehlke

Staff Contact: Vonette J. Richter, Assistant Code Revisor