SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS

CHAPTER 560

SENATE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 8001

(Memorial Resolutions Committee)

A memorial resolution for deceased members of the Senate of North Dakota.

WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:

Arden Anderson, who served in the 60th and 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 25, died May 16, 2012;

Arthur Henry Behm, who served in the 60th and 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 19, died July 6, 2012;

Dennis Bercier, who served in the 56th through the 59th Legislative Assemblies, from District 9, died June 11, 2012;

Thomas L. Fischer, who served in the 55th through the 62nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 46, died November 16, 2011;

Herbert T. Geving, who served in the 40th Legislative Assembly, from District 4, died April 23, 2011;

Erwin "Bud" Hanson, who served in the 51st and 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 2, died October 7, 2011;

Orlin Milton "Bill" Hanson, who served in the 52nd Legislative Assembly, from District 3, died October 13, 2012;

Ludger Kadlec, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 3, died September 16, 2012;

George Longmire, who served in the 35th through the 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, and in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 18, died March 25, 2012;

Ernest G. Pyle, who served in the 40th through the 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 22, died May 28, 2011;

Earl H. Redlin, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 25, and in the 40th through 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 28, died December 21, 2012:

Rolland "Rollie" Redlin, who served in the 36th through the 38th Legislative Assemblies, from District 40, in the 43rd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, from

District 5, in the 45th through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 40 and 50, and in the 53rd through the 56th Legislative Assemblies, from District 38, died September 23, 2011;

Chester Reiten, who served in the 43^{rd} and 44^{th} Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, and in the 45^{th} through the 50^{th} Legislative Assemblies, from District 40 and 50, died January 22, 2013;

Ernest Sands, who served in the 40th and 41st Legislative Assemblies and in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, died April 9, 2012;

Marvin E. Sorum, who served in the 46th and 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 3, died March 12, 2012;

Robert W. "Bob" Stenehjem, who served in the 53rd through the 62nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 30, died July 18, 2011;

Darlene Watne, who served in the 54th through the 57th Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, died October 12, 2012;

WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former Senate colleagues and to honor their memories; and

WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by their contributions to public service;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF NORTH DAKOTA:

That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the Senate and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the surviving families of these deceased senators.

Filed March 20, 2013