NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, May 10, 2012 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Ed Ryen, North Dakota Transportation Manager, HDR Engineering, on design-build 9:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Francis Ziegler, Director, Department of Transportation, on recent activities of the department 9:40 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft on the definition of offhighway vehicles 9:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion 9:55 a.m. Break 10:10 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the refusal to issue a certificate of title to unsafe out-of-state vehicles 10:15 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion 10:25 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to impounding and destroying number plates for certain offenses 10:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion 10:40 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to the International Registration Plan, the Unified Carrier Registration System, and the Single State Insurance Registration System 10:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to consolidate fees for 10:55 a.m. commercial drivers' licenses 11:00 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to provide consistency and 11:10 a.m. clarity to North Dakota Century Code Chapter 39-06.1 relating to traffic offenses administration 11:30 a.m. Comments by interested persons 11:45 a.m. Committee discussion 12:00 noon Luncheon recess Presentation by Mr. Terry Traynor, North Dakota Association of Counties, on the 1:00 p.m. activities of the Emergency Services Communications Coordinating Committee in creating a report on the use of assessed communications service fee revenue and

recommendations in operating standards for emergency services communications

- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a second draft of a bill draft to provide for consistency and clarity to Chapter 39-06 relating to operators' licenses
- 1:25 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 1:35 p.m. Committee discussion and directives
- 2:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Gary A. Lee (Chairman), Ron Carlisle, Karen K. Krebsbach, Richard Marcellais, Dave Nething, George L. Nodland, David O'Connell, Terry M. Wanzek

Representatives Robert Frantsvog, Ed Gruchalla, Brenda Heller, Bob Hunskor, Karen Karls, Jerry Kelsh, Matthew M. Klein, William E. Kretschmar, Mark S. Owens, Dan Ruby, Don Vigesaa

Staff Contact: Timothy J. Dawson, Counsel