Revised 5/24/12

NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the March 23, 2012, meeting Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to provide property tax relief 9:05 a.m. through a residential property tax credit Presentation by Mr. Jerry Coleman, Department of Public Instruction, of the fiscal effect 9:15 a.m. of providing up to 185 mills of property tax relief through mill levy reduction grants to school districts 9:25 a.m. Presentation by a Tax Department representative of fiscal analysis information for bill drafts under committee consideration to provide property tax relief Presentation by Ms. Marcy Dickerson, State Supervisor of Assessments, Tax 9:40 a.m. Department, of information on feasibility of reconciling taxable years for mobile home taxes and residential and commercial property taxes 9:50 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives on property tax relief issues 10:15 a.m. Break 10:30 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a memorandum on property tax exemptions history and a bill draft to eliminate discretionary property tax exemptions 10:40 a.m. Review of an April 2012 study completed by the PEW Center on the States evaluating state monitoring of state tax incentives 10:50 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives regarding the committee study of property tax exemptions 11:10 a.m. Review by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to reporting of bonded indebtedness by political subdivisions and information on higher education institution indebtedness reporting 11:20 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Scott Wegner, Arntson Stewart Wegner PC, regarding the bill draft to require political subdivision bonded indebtedness reporting and prospects for political subdivision indebtedness if measure No. 2 is enacted 11:30 a.m. Committee discussion and staff directives related to bonded indebtedness of subdivisions 11:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Myles Vosberg, Tax Department, relating to emerging issues in streamlined sales taxes Committee discussion and staff directives 11:50 a.m. 12:00 noon Adjourn

NOTE: After adjournment, beginning at 1:30 p.m., committee members are invited to tour AMCON Distributing to observe cigarette tax stamping operations used for cigarettes distributed in other states. A tour is expected to take 10 minutes to 15 minutes but groups of only four or five committee members at a time will be allowed to tour the facility due to space limitations. AMCON Distributing is located at 3125 East Thayer Avenue, Bismarck. Committee members are requested to park on the street and use the north entrance.

Committee Members

Senators David Hogue (Chairman), Randy Burckhard, Dwight Cook, Jim Dotzenrod, Lonnie J. Laffen, Dave Oehlke, Ronald Sorvaag

Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, David Drovdal, Glen Froseth, Lyle Hanson, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Richard Holman, Jim Kasper, Shirley Meyer, Mike Nathe, Marvin E. Nelson, Mark S. Owens, Roscoe Streyle

Staff Contact: John Walstad, Code Revisor