NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Tuesday, September 6, 2011 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Comments by chairman Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
- 9:15 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of primacy agreements with the Environmental Protection Agency
- 9:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Dave Glatt, Chief, Environmental Health Section, State Department of Health, on primacy issues with the Environmental Protection Agency
- 9:55 a.m. Break
- 10:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Jim Gray, Department of Agriculture, on primacy issues with the Environmental Protection Agency
- 10:25 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Lynn Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, on primacy issues with the Environmental Protection Agency
- 10:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 10:55 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on national designations over property in this state
- 11:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Sandy Clark, Public Policy Director, North Dakota Farm Bureau, on national designations over property in this state
- 11:05 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 11:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on potash mining and taxation issues
- 11:45 a.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. J. T. Starzecki, Senior Manager, Business Development, Sirius Minerals, PLC, on potential potash mining in this state and related issues
- 1:25 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Helms on potash mining regulation
- 1:45 p.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 2:00 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

- Representatives Chuck Damschen (Chairman), Dick Anderson, Michael D. Brandenburg, Duane DeKrey, David Drovdal, Lyle Hanson, Curt Hofstad, Bob Hunskor, Scot Kelsh, Mike Nathe, David S. Rust, Vicky Steiner
- Senators Bill Bowman, Randy Burckhard, Robert Erbele, Layton Freborg, Oley Larsen, Philip M. Murphy, Connie Triplett

Staff Contact: Timothy J. Dawson