NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

COMMISSION ON ALTERNATIVES TO INCARCERATION

Wednesday, April 18, 2012 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 10:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the February 1, 2012, meeting
- 10:05 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Leann K. Bertsch, Director, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, regarding performance-based sentencing reduction
- 10:20 a.m. Commission discussion
- 10:25 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to driving under suspension and issuance of temporary restricted operator's licenses
- 10:30 a.m. Comments by representatives of the Department of Transportation regarding the bill draft and the cost of time and postage to require notices of suspension to be sent by certified mail
- 10:40 a.m. Commission discussion and comments by interested persons regarding the bill draft
- 10:50 a.m. Presentation by representatives of the Bismarck Transition Center regarding the programs and services offered by the center
- 11:30 a.m. Comments by Ms. Lois Scharnhorst, Morton County Clerk of District Court, regarding collection of restitution and fees by clerks of court
- 11:40 a.m. Comments by interested persons regarding the monetary thresholds and the penalties for various criminal violations
- 12:15 p.m. Commission discussion and staff directives
- 12:30 p.m. Adjourn

Commission Members

Senators Stanley W. Lyson, Dave Oehlke, Connie Triplett

Representatives Eliot Glassheim, Lawrence R. Klemin, William E. Kretschmar

Citizen Members Leann K. Bertsch, Edward Brownshield, Bradley A. Cruff, Duane Johnston, Paul D. Laney, Judge Lisa McEvers, Justice Mary Muehlen Maring, Carol K. Olson, Dr. Gary Rabe, Thomas L. Trenbeath, Keith Witt

Staff Contact: John Bjornson, Counsel