NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, September 23, 2008 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Andrea Stomberg, Vice President, Electric Supply, Montana-Dakota Utilities Company, on the origination and operation of "the grid"
- 9:50 a.m. Questions and comments by committee members and comments by interested persons
- 10:00 a.m. Break
- 10:15 a.m. Report from a representative of the North Dakota Pipeline Authority on recent activities of the authority
- 10:30 a.m. Report from a representative of the North Dakota Transmission Authority on recent activities of the authority
- 10:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts on energy efficiency in building
- 10:55 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:15 a.m. Committee discussion
- 11:20 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of the bill draft to extend the income tax credit for the installation of geothermal, solar, wind, or biomass energy devices from an end date of January 1, 2011, to an end date of January 1, 2015, and allow a credit carryover of 10 years and the sale of unused credits to those credits earned before January 1, 2011
- 11:25 a.m. Comments by interested persons
- 11:35 a.m. Committee discussion
- 11:40 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Tony Clark, Commissioner, Public Service Commission, on wind tower siting
- 12:00 noon Luncheon recess
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of bill drafts relating to the extension of the oil extraction tax exemption tertiary recovery projects
- 1:25 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 1:40 p.m. Committee discussion
- 1:50 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft relating to definitions used in the siting of energy conversion and transmission facilities
- 1:55 p.m. Comments by interested persons
- 2:15 p.m. Committee discussion
- 2:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Robert M. Horne, Ryan M. Taylor, Ben Tollefson, Herbert Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Scot Kelsh, Matthew M. Klein, Shirley Meyer, Todd Porter, Dave Weiler