## NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

## **Tentative Agenda**

## **ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE**

Tuesday, August 5, 2008 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

- 9:00 a.m. Call to order Roll call Consideration of the minutes of the previous meeting
- 9:10 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Gary Hoffman on wind tower siting and decommissioning
- 9:30 a.m. Presentation by Mr. Mike McEnroe, North Dakota Chapter of The Wildlife Society, on habitat issues in wind tower siting
- 9:45 a.m. Comments by interested persons and committee discussion
- 10:00 a.m. Break
- 10:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Lignite Energy Council, on recent federal legislation
- 10:35 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Public Service Commission on recent matters before the commission and the effect of federal environmental regulation
- 10:50 a.m. Presentation by a representative of the Department of Commerce of an update on the report from the Department of Commerce's Energy Policy Commission
- 11:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to extend the reduction from 3 percent to 1.5 percent of assessed value for a centrally assessed wind turbine electric generation unit with a nameplate generation capacity of 100 kilowatts or more from January 1, 2011, to January 1, 2015
- 11:10 a.m. Testimony by interested persons
- 11:25 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to extend the coal conversion tax exemption for repowering to include an electrical generating unit that uses beneficiated coal
- 11:30 a.m. Testimony by interested persons
- 11:45 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to extend the oil extraction tax exemption for tertiary recovery projects from 10 years from the date the incremental production begins to an unlimited duration
- 11:50 a.m. Testimony by interested persons
- 12:05 p.m. Luncheon recess
- 1:15 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to extend the income tax credit for the installation of geothermal, solar, wind, or biomass energy devices from an end date of January 1, 2011, to an end date of January 1, 2015, and allow a credit carryover of 10 years and the sale of unused credits to those credits earned before January 1, 2011
- 1:35 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to make permanent the sales and use tax exemption for materials used in the construction or expansion of a wind power facility
- 1:40 p.m. Testimony by interested persons

- 1:55 p.m. Break
- 2:10 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft that includes a power plant that uses beneficiated coal within the sales and use tax exemption and severance tax exemption on coal purchased for coal beneficiation which is used in an agricultural commodity processing facility
- 2:15 p.m. Testimony by interested persons
- 2:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to define the sales and use tax exemption for the construction or expansion of a system used to compress, process, gather, or refine gas from an oil or gas well and to require a certificate of qualification from the Tax Commissioner to be exempt instead of applying for a refund
- 2:35 p.m. Testimony by interested persons
- 2:50 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of two bill drafts on energy conservation standards in new building construction and public building efficiency standards
- 2:55 p.m. Testimony on the bill drafts by Mr. Bill Huether, Office of Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency
- 3:20 p.m. Testimony by interested persons
- 3:30 p.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft to reduce the time for a designation by the Public Service Commission of a route for a transmission facility from six months to three months
- 3:35 p.m. Testimony by interested persons
- 4:00 p.m. Presentation by Mr. Terry Traynor, North Dakota Association of Counties, of a report from the Emergency Services Communications Coordinating Committee on the use of assessed communications services fee revenue and recommended changes to the operating standards for emergency service communications
- 4:20 p.m. Committee discussion
- 5:00 p.m. Adjourn

**Committee Members** 

Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Robert M. Horne, Ryan M. Taylor, Ben Tollefson, Herbert Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Scot Kelsh, Matthew M. Klein, Shirley Meyer, Todd Porter, Dave Weiler