NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

ENERGY DEVELOPMENT AND TRANSMISSION COMMITTEE

Tuesday, July 31, 2007 Harvest Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Review of Legislative Council supplementary rules of operation and procedure
9:10 a.m.	Comments by the chairman regarding the responsibilities of the committee
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the study of a comprehensive energy policy
9:30 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Acting Director of the Transmission Authority, on recent activities of the Transmission Authority
9:45 a.m.	Committee questions and discussion
9:55 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Sandi Tabor, Lignite Energy Council, on efforts to expand the lignite energy industry
10:10 a.m.	Committee questions and discussion
10:15 a.m.	Break
10:30 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Ron Ness, North Dakota Petroleum Council, on challenges facing the oil industry
10:45 a.m.	Committee questions and discussion
10:50 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Lynn D. Helms, Director, Department of Mineral Resources, Industrial Commission, on North Dakota energy resources and future energy demands
11:30 a.m.	Committee questions and discussion
11:45 a.m.	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Shane Goettle, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, on the Energy Policy Commission and energy policy
1:20 p.m.	Committee questions and discussion
1:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons on the study of energy
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the siting and decommissioning of commercial wind farms
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Susan Wefald, Commissioner, Public Service Commission, on the commission's activities relating to the siting and decommissioning of commercial wind farms and wind energy projects
2:20 p.m.	Comments and questions by committee members
2:30 p.m.	Comments by interested persons on the study of the siting and decommissioning of commercial wind farms
2:50 p.m.	Committee discussion
3:15 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Rich Wardner (Chairman), John M. Andrist, Robert M. Horne, Ryan M. Taylor, Ben Tollefson, Herbert Urlacher

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Scot Kelsh, Matthew M. Klein, Shirley Meyer, Todd Porter, Dave Weiler